Welcome! Log in or Register

Electric Wizard - Electric Wizard

  • image
£16.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Electric Wizard / Audio CD released 2006-05-29 at Rise Above

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

    More Offers
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.07.2008 09:13
      Very helpful



      Electric Wizard's first album (1995).

      The first release from Dorset's drug-fuelled doom metal band Electric Wizard is less distinctive than their later works, more directly derivative of the classic doom tradition pioneered by bands like Black Sabbath in the seventies, but still applying a more modern sound with production trickery. These songs are long, sloooow and heavy, crawling along with frank disregard for musical convention, though lacking the effective wall-of-sound approach of subsequent releases.

      None of these songs really stand out apart from the atmospheric instrumental 'Mountains of Mars,' but this is still a high quality album of stoner doom, with some blues-influenced guitar solos and a nice vocal performance from Jus Osborn, even if he hasn't quite found his voice yet. The emphasis on reverb and feedback effects is deliberately alienating to the faint-hearted and aids the atmosphere immensely, while doom fans should enjoy the more overtly Sabbathesque songs such as the band's fantasy-themed title song.

      1. Stone Magnet
      2. Mourning Prayer
      3. Mountains of Mars
      4. Behemoth
      5. Devil's Bride
      6. Black Butterfly
      7. Electric Wizard
      8. Wooden Pipe


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Stone Magnet
    2 Morning Prayer
    3 Mountains Of Mars
    4 Behemos
    5 Devil's Bride
    6 Black Butterfly
    7 Electric Wizard
    8 Wooden Pipe
    9 Illimitable Nebulie
    10 Morning Prayer Pt. 1

Products you might be interested in