Welcome! Log in or Register

Enter: The Conquering Chicken - The Gits

  • image
£7.75 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Grunge / Artist: The Gits / Original recording reissued / Audio CD released 2007-11-19 at Broken Rekids

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      17.01.2012 16:22
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Not quite as good as the later compilation

      Yesterday I wrote a review about the band The Gits, a Seattle band around at the beginning of the 90s, their lead singer Mia Zapata tragically the victim of rape and murder, Seafish Louisville was the album reviewed.

      If you've had a listen to it or want to know more about the other albums by the band then this is a good place to start. Enter: The Conquering Chicken is an album that was originally released in 1994, posthumously released.

      It's a little more evovled than The Gits usual raucous musical assault, there's a somewhat dramatic cover of Sam Cooke's "A Change is Gonna Come', on the other end of the scale you have the somewhat more fury filled "Beauty of the Rose" more reminiscent of songs from the band's debut "Frenching the Bully

      The album was incomplete at the time of the vocalists death so they filled it up with some tracks that otherwise wouldn't be there - a Zapata solo of "Social Love", not a song I particularly like. "Drinking Song" a much more Gits like send off for the singer with lyrics like "so with this pint I toast to you, to all my friends - keep healthy and good" seeming somewhat apt.

      Another undoubtedly alcohol fuelled track is Drunks, the punky riffs sound a bit Sex Pistolish and the lyrics are pretty minimalistic consisting of nothing more than the word "Drunks", fun all the same though on an album where songs tend to be rather filled with different speeds and lots of lyrics. Another punky effort is "New Fast One"again a blast of riffs and fast, heavy drumming with little else going on.

      One of the most approachable tracks on the album to a new listener is "Precious Blood", Zapata's voice gets a good work out and the band manage to play with energy and calm at the same time.

      There are a few weak links on this album and it might not be quite as aggressive as the band's first album but it's definitely a good album and worth a listen.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Bob (Cousin O.)
      2 Guilt Within Your Head
      3 Seaweed
      4 A Change Is Gonna Come
      5 Precious Blood
      6 Beauty Of The Rose
      7 Drunks
      8 Italian Song
      9 Social Love I
      10 Social Love II
      11 Daily Bread
      12 Sign Of The Crab
      13 Drinking Song
      14 I'm Lou
      15 New Fast One
      16 Crab
      17 Seaweed
      18 Rose
      19 Whirlwind
      20 New Fast One
      21 Bob
      22 A Change Is Gonna Come

    Products you might be interested in