Welcome! Log in or Register

Eurovision Song Contest - Baku 2012

  • image
£16.22 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review
  • Some memorable tracks!
  • Some classic Eurovision duds included!
  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.02.2015 17:53
      Very helpful


      • "Some memorable tracks!"


      • "Some classic Eurovision duds included!"

      A Double Album for Eurovision Fans!

      I have been a huge fan of the Eurovision song contest for many years and 2012 is a memorable year in the contest history for me. When I listen to this double CD album now I think back on a year when we hosted the Olympic Games and had so much fun and success that summer. This is the year that the much loved Loreen won the contest with her uplifting song 'Euphoria'. The song was one of the most successful tracks post Eurovision and in the UK it managed to reach number 3 which was the highest chart position for a Eurovision song since 1987!

      The contest may also be memorable to those in the UK because it was the second time Jedward were entering. This time their song was called 'Waterline' and was not quite as good as their previous effort 'Lipstick'. Still, their performance on stage was excellent and 'Waterline' is the last track on the 1st disc and is a fast paced, fun pop song.

      Other notable tracks include Sinplus's 'Unbreakable', notable because it was expected to qualify for the grand final but didn't, despite being a very catchy pop-rock number for Switzerland.

      Soluna Samay's quirky, relaxed folksy pop track 'Should've Known Better' is a carefree, relaxing track that you want to tap your toes to. Whilst we have the complete opposite in Iva Adamou's 'La, La Love'. It's a dance track full of excitement, sensuality and passion.

      Some of the dark horses of the competition include 'Never Forget', a rousing duet by Greta Salome and Jonsi. It makes me think of medieval knights and magic! I also love the dramatic and sincere 'Nije Ljubav Stvar' by Zeljko Joksimovic which did incredibly well in the Grand Final despite flying under the radar in the weeks preceding the concert. It has an authentic Serbian sound which I think is terrific. The runner up this year was the 'Russian Grannies' with 'Party For Everybody' although I feel the song is more of a novelty track.

      As for the UK entry, you may recall it was Englelbert Humperdinck who flew the flag this year. His song is a gentle, rather old fashioned love song that did not seem to appeal to the rest of Europe. Despite this I think it's a very pretty track which probably will appeal to the older generation.

      This is a double album with 19 tracks on disc 1 and 21 tracks on disc 2. It's probably an album you will only want to buy if you are a Eurovision fanatic like me! Otherwise, do individual downloads on the best tracks which I've mentioned in this review!

      You can purchase this from the official Eurovision website or stores like Amazon.co.uk.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Suus - Rona Nishliu (Albania)
    2 Woki Mit Deim Popo - Trackshittaz (Austria)
    3 When The Music Dies - Sabina Babayeva (Azerbaijan)
    4 Korake Ti Znam - Maya Sar (Bosnia & Herzegovina)
    5 Would You - Iris (Belgium)
    6 Lov

Products you might be interested in