Welcome! Log in or Register

Extended 80's

  • image
£8.69 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2006-10-23 at Music Club

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.09.2009 12:10
      Very helpful




      Unfortunately this CD smacks of bagain basements. There are a mere 15 tracks and the cover artwork looks like it has been knocked up in a few seconds on Microsoft Paint. The CD boasts that it has classic pop singles in twelve inch form. Some of the choices are a little bizarre though.

      The late Ian Dury was a bright fellow and his 'Reasons To Be Cheerful Part 3' is an amusing and engaging track, though I cannot help feeling 'Rhythm Stick' might have been a better choice for this album.

      Big Audio Dynamite had a few small hits in the eighties and their 'E=MC?' is a fuse of rock and pop, but does not really lend itself to being extended. Head to the Blow Monkeys, where the melodic 'Digging Your Scene' will captivate, with some cool vocals and sensual mood swings. The vocals by Dr Robert are handled with care and a slight feminine allure.

      'Life In A Northern Town' by Dream Academy is a glorious and atmospheric piece of music, with tribal chants and a sense of stepping into a wilderness. For many, it will be known as the song Dario G did for 'Sunchyme.' The extended mix works well and brings out the spirit of the song.

      Paul Hardcastle's '19' has dated badly but paints a harsh picture of the brutality of war. Poor old Rick Astley has also dated badly, but his song would at least get you onto the dancefloor. 'Never Gonna Give You Up' is a pleasing pop explosion benefiting from some rich smooth vocals from Rick.

      Towards the end of the album, the bleak 'Harvest For The World' by The Christians pops up. An odd choice again for an extended remix and I find it rather depressing and not one to play over and over.

      Only buy this if you're looking to seek out specific tracks.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Reasons To Be Cheerful, Part 3 - Ian Dury And The Blockheads
    2 E=MC? - Big Audio Dynamite
    3 Party Fears Two - Associates
    4 Digging Your Scene - Blow Monkeys
    5 Life In A Northern Town - Dream Academy
    6 Lost Weekend - Lloyd Cole & The Commotions
    7 Don't Talk To Me About Love - Altered Images

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 19 - Paul Hardcastle
    2 Half A Minute - Matt Bianco
    3 Sign Of The Times - The Belle Stars
    4 The Safety Dance - Men Without Hats
    5 Never Gonna Give You Up - Rick Astley
    6 Mr Solitaire - Animal Nightlife
    7 Harvest For The World - The Christians
    8 Never Can Say Goodbye - The Communards

Products you might be interested in