Welcome! Log in or Register

Fabriclive 39 - DJ Yoda

  • image
£5.29 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap / Artist: DJ Yoda / Live / Audio CD released 2008-04-14 at Fabric

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      17.03.2009 17:45
      Very helpful



      If you like music, you'll love this.

      DJ Yoda aka Duncan Beiny is an English DJ who is most well known for his unique style of combining hip hop music with samples sourced from TV shows and cartoons. He has released a series of mixtapes titled 'How To Cut & Paste' and has won various awards for his DJing skills.

      Fabriclive 39 was released in April 2008 on (believe it or not) Fabric Records. Surprisingly, it is the 39th release in the Fabriclive series.

      I'm not going to beat around the bush here. This is one of the greatest 'mixtapes' I have heard in my entire life. I've listened to it pretty much continuously since I bought it (on the day of release) and have not once been bored. At just under £15, you may think it's not worth the expenditure. You are very very wrong.

      Consisting of 25 tracks, this cd takes you on a musical journey (you may have heard that before but it's never been as true as it is here) that covers a wide range of musical genres from classic hip hop to jungle and soul to calypso.


      1 The Thunderclaps - Judgement Day (Donkey Work Re-Edit)
      2 Violent Femmes - Blister In The Sun
      3 Skibadee - Tika Toc
      4 Handsome Boy Modeling School - Holy Calamity (Bear Witness II)
      5 Ice Cube - Jackin' For Beats
      6 Ghost - It's All Love
      7 Jurassic 5 - Swing Set
      8 The Hot 8 Brass Band - Sexual Healing
      9 D Nice - Crumbs On The Table
      10 Gang Starr - Just To Get A Rep
      11a Jean Jacques Perry - EVA
      11b DJ Yoda & Herve - Bonus Beats
      12 The Chemical Brothers - Salmon Dance
      13 The Coral - In The Morning
      14a Bell Biv Devoe - Poison
      14b Tittsworth - Bonus Beats
      15 Run DMC - It's Tricky
      16 Salt N Pepa - Push It
      17 DJ Class - Tear Da Club Up
      18 Bonde Do Role - Marina Gasolina
      19a Minnie Ripperton - Loving You
      19b Bamabounce - Bonus Beats
      20 Collie Buddz - Come Around
      21 DJ Yoda Feat. Sway - Chatterbox
      22 Adam F - Circles
      23 DJ Zinc - Super Sharp Shooter
      24a Wiley - Gangsters
      24b Skream - Make Me
      25 Lord Kitchener - London Is The Place For Me

      Quite impressive, I agree.

      There is not one single 'weak' track here. There may be something that is not quite your cup of tea but there is no doubting the quality of any of them.
      As a huge hip hop fan, I'm pleased at the inclusion of Ice Cube, Run DMC, Salt N Pepa and Gang Starr tracks. Likewise, the jungle tracks of Adam F and DJ Zinc are personal favourites of mine. The Bell Biv Devoe song has been a firm favourite of mine since I was a kid and the Wiley and DJ Yoda & Sway tunes also received heavy rotation on my ipod before this came out. Everyone at some point has tried to hit that high note sung by Minnie Riperton in 'Loving You', haven't they? (I know I have). This really is a mix of greatness.

      DJ Yoda uses some amazing DJ skills throught this album, in fact, no two mixes are the same. I would give anything to be able to DJ the way this guy does. Skeptics might think that all of this trickery is done on computer but, having seen him perform live, I can tell you that that is not the case. This guy really can do all of that crazyness live. Astonishing stuff. The way he also uses samples from TV shows keeps things moving well and never allows the interest to drop.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Judgement Day - Thunderclaps
      2 Blister In The Sun - Violent Femmes
      3 Tika Toc - Skibadee
      4 Holy Calamity (Bear Witness II) - Handsome Boy Modeling School
      5 Jackin' For Beats - Ice Cube
      6 It's All Love - Ghost (7)
      7 Swing Set - Jurassic 5
      8 Sexual Healing - Hot 8 Brass Band
      9 Crumbs On The Table - D-Nice
      10 Just To Get A Rep - Gang Starr
      11 EVA/Bonus Beats - Perrey, Jean Jacques/DJ Yoda & Herve
      12 Salmon Dance - Chemical Brothers
      13 In The Morning - Coral
      14 Poison/Bonus Beats - Bell Biv Devoe/Tittsworth
      15 It's Tricky - Run DMC
      16 Push It - Salt 'N Pepa
      17 Tear Da Club Up - DJ Class
      18 Marina Gasolina - Bonde Do Role
      19 Loving You/Bonus Beats - Riperton, Minnie/Bambabounce
      20 Come Around - Collie Buddz
      21 Chatterbox - DJ Yoda & Sway
      22 Circles - Adam F
      23 Super Sharp Shooter - DJ Zinc
      24 Gangsters/Make Me - Wiley/Skream
      25 London Is The Place For Me - Lord Kitchener
      26 Chatterbox - DJ Yoda & Sway
      27 Circles - Adam F
      28 Super Sharp Shooter - DJ Zinc
      29 Gangsters - Wiley
      30 Make Me - Skream (1)
      31 Tip Toe - DJ Yoda
      32 London Is The Place For Me - Lord Kitchene

    Products you might be interested in