Welcome! Log in or Register

Fabulous Disaster - Exodus

  • image
£28.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Exodus / Original recording reissued / Audio CD released at Century Media

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.12.2011 23:25
      Very helpful



      Good friendly violent fun

      "Fabulous Disaster" is the 3rd studio album released in 1988 by American thrash metal band, Exodus. The line-up for the album was Steve Souza (vocals), Gary Holt (guitar), Rick Hunolt (guitar), Rob McKillop (bass) and Tom Hunting (drums).

      This is one of thrash metal's best albums from one of thrash metal's best bands. The so-called 'Big 4' of thrash of Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth and Anthrax, should probably have been a 'Big 5' with Exodus included. Each band had a unique style in the heyday of metal; Metallica's thrash style, Slayer's demonic tones, Megadeth's solo's and Anthrax's fun-fused metal. With Exodus, their style was dubbed 'Good friendly violent fun'.

      Many 80s thrash anthems are present on this album, "Fabulous Disaster", "Corruption" and the brilliant "The Toxic Waltz" stand at the forefront with thunderous riffs, all of which have become live favourites over the years. The lyrical content of "The Toxic Waltz" in particular gives you a taste of what a concert in early 1980s thrash metal feels like, especially in the mosh pits. "Everybody's doin' the toxic waltz, kick your friend in the head and have a ball" is just one line from a classic record. There are also two cover songs on the album, the first being "Low Rider", a slower number first recorded by fun band, War, and the second being AC/DC's "Overdose", which ends the album.

      In summary, the twin-guitar attack of Holt and Hunolt produces an incredible fusion of very heavy music. This album is not one of those you can play on a relaxing Sunday afternoon; it's just not mellow enough anywhere for that. The description of good friendly violent fun is exactly what it is. If you like thrash, you'll love this album. You parents will hate it though.

      1. The Last Act of Defiance
      2. Fabulous Disaster
      3. The Toxic Waltz
      4. Low Rider
      5. Cajun Hell
      6. Like Father, Like Son
      7. Corruption
      8. Verbal Razors
      9. Open Season
      10. Overdose

      My rating: 9/10


      Login or register to add comments