Welcome! Log in or Register

Father's Day - Father Mc

  • image
£10.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Pop R&B / Artist: Father Mc / Import / Audio CD released 1990-10-15 at Mca

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.07.2010 08:49
      Very helpful



      Father MC's debut album

      "Father's Day" was released as the debut record from the East Coast rapper Father MC. Getting his break after being discovered by Puff Daddy, the rapper was able to see a fair bit of commercial success as a performer who went down the very popular New Jack Swing route (which was mainly concerned with R&B acts who wanted a Hip Hop edge and so added to their material with raps) with Father Mc jumping over the bouncy beats and funky breaks which all the top swingers worked with around this time in the late eighties to early nineties.

      1. "I'll Do 4 U"

      The album kicks off with what was the second single from the album. It has him jumping up over "Got To Be Real" by Cheryl Lynn to give things a funky Disco backing and then addition Hip Hop beats are brought in over it makes seem right as he speaks on what exactly he'll do in order to make his girl feel as right as he wants her to feel. A young Mary J. Blige sings the hook here and tops it all off.

      **Five Stars**

      2. "Treat Them Like They Want To Be Treated"

      This was the album's lead single and a track which has Father MC joining forces with the R&b quartet Jodeci. I felt that together they did well to make thing sound as well it was just as things should be as we're given a rather straight-forward New jack Swing tune from this sort of time with a structure which reflects what was heard throughout the industry at the time and then rapping elsewhere as he plays on the same themes as the last.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Lisa Baby"

      The singles just don't stop coming as we find that we're greated with another here and yet again we find that things are done through a combination of the rapper and Jodeci (who were yet to get the sort of exposure that they would have done by the time they made their debut the year after in 1991). Although Father MC clearly takes from Big daddy Kane's style, it still sounds very fresh and is attention-grabbing.

      **Five Stars**

      4. "Tell Me Something Good"

      The beats on this one are much harder and driven much more by intense percussion than most that we're heard around this time as the sampling technology had improved so massively around this time. However, although the verses may sound to be rather stripped-down and plain, this is made up for with the chorus were we find that he takes the same snippet that UGK did for a track of the same name around this time.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "I Come Correct"

      Put together by both Father MC and L.A. Reid, this one shows more of his capabilities and just how well he's able to put his various talents into good use for this album. I found that what was found here was just as you'd expect of an album designed for the mainstream, but has a underground feel to it from the delivery of the rhymes and those who will have influenced him to do things in such a way.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "I've Been Watching You"

      This was another of the singles on the album and one which features Lady Kazen. Together they do well as they battle against each other with the flows and I thought that it made for an effect that would drag in listeners and ensure that they wouldn't want not to be a part of what's given here. It's a fresh tune and has a lot of energy to it and uses a great sample of The Ohio Players to push it along.

      **Five Stars**

      7. "Ain't It Funky"

      If the title doesn't give it away, then you should be made aware that this one is based upon a sample of James Brown's "Funky Drummer" and is just the type of thing that you'd expect to get around this sort of time with the heavy Breakbeats taken from a Funk pioneer and this allows the rapper to come with some speedy raps which force the listener to really pay attention to each and every twist in the music.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Father's Day"

      The titular track on the album is one that has Father MC coming up with the goods once more. I can't see too many having any issues with what comes out here as it has a lot to it and demands attention as he performs a tune which is about him showing that he's taking over here and is doing so by declaring it to be "Father's Day" - the day that's all about no others than himself.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Dance 4 Me"

      We find that father MC is clearly for the mainstream exposure here as he does a tune which has him trying out the Hip-House sounds. Sampling "Dance To The Drummer's Beat" and James Brown's "I Got Ants In My Pants", it's clearly just something to get loose to but I thought that it was a shame that he had to turn to House to get this done as New Jack Swing was a much safer option than this stuff.

      **Four Stars**

      10. "Why U Wanna Hurt Me"

      The album ends with this track, a recording which has him letting all the remainder of his energy out with just the sort of thing that I said he should have gone for on the last. Here he gets Jodeci back on his side to help with the R&B vocals here and I felt that it topped things off well as he pulls things right back up after losing it a little with a tune that wasn't quite up to the standard found elsewhere.

      **Five Stars**

      Although Father MC may not have been as inventive as many of the other big names around this time, it's still clear from this very consistent release that he was capable of coming up with the goods and so it's worth looking back for works he's done. The rhymes are fresh and although the style of them is jacked from others, he ensures that he doesn't mess it up and performs to a standard he's able to maintain through the course of the whole release.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 I'll Do 4 U
    2 Treat Them Like They Want to Be Treated
    3 Lisa Baby
    4 Tell Me Something Good - Fresh Gordon
    5 I Come Correct
    6 I've Been Watching You - Father MC,
    7 Ain't It Funky
    8 Father's Day
    9 Dance 4 Me
    10 Why U Wanna Hurt Me

Products you might be interested in