Welcome! Log in or Register

Five Serpent's Teeth - Evile

  • image
£14.49 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Rock / Artist: Evile / Label: Earache / Released Date: 2011

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.11.2011 15:11



      Fantastic album from start to finish. One of the best albums of 2011.

      The third studio release from British thrashers Evile, released October 2011 on Earache Records, this is a belter of an album! Already working its way towards being one of my favourite thrash albums.

      The album starts off with the title track, Five Serpents Teeth, with 50 seconds of an eery evil ambient with a guitar riff and sounds of snakes rattling, suddenly hits you in the face with epic thrash metal. Followed by In Dreams Of Terror, the thrashing doesnt stop there. Come the third track, this gives you a chance to grab a breath as this is Eviles "Enter Sandman", Cult, absolutely brilliant track with brilliant lyrics. This mid tempo track is the one that sticks in your head! Next up are Eternal Empire, Xaraya, two solid thrash tracks. Then, Origin Of Oblivion. The last minute of this track consists of a massive headbanging riff accompanied by a chant of "I will never become machine!" Brilliant! Then after youve finished slamming round to Centurion, you are presented with In Memoriam, a slow track comparable to Metallicas Fade To Black, dedicated to Eviles former fallen bassist Mike Alexander, this is a teary but fantastic! But the thrashing doesnt stop there! Once you've got your breath back.. Of we thrash again with the last two tracks Descent Into Madness and Long Live The New Flesh.. You will be begging for more!

      Quite possibly one of the best metal albums of 2011.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      28.10.2011 11:11
      Very helpful



      Evile is the future of thrash

      "Five Serpent's Teeth" is the 3rd studio album by Yorkshire thrashers Evile, produced by Russ Russell and released in 2011 on Earache Records. It is the first album featuring bassist Joel Graham, who replaced Mike Alexander after the latter sadly died of a pulmonary embolism in 2009. Also on the album are Matt Drake (vocals/guitar), Ol Drake (guitar) and Ben Carter (drums).

      Like the band's first two albums, "Five Serpent's Teeth" doesn't let up and if you're after a pulverising thrash album for the 21st century, look no further than Evile to provide that. The album's lead track has a unique blend of everything you heard when thrash began, with crushing drums and heavy-laden riffs and solos which you'll no doubt pick up throughout the album.

      Evile are not a unique band by any means; are there any unique bands out there anymore? But what they deliver is exactly what the thrash fan wants. If you want Metallica, there are elements in there; a chorus towards the end of the first track, "Five Serpent's Teeth", is reminiscent of "The Four Horsemen", while the furious soloing on "In Dreams of Terror" is something you're likely to hear from Dave Mustaine and Megadeth or the twin attack of Hanneman/King in Slayer.

      "In Memoriam" was written in memory of Evile's fallen bassist, Mike Alexander, with the main bass riff having been written by him. It's a thrash ballad in the style of Metallica's "Fade to Black" and is a fitting tribute to a man who had promised so much more.

      In summary, "Five Serpent's Teeth" is a very good, clean and polished album with furious riffs, insane solos and massive drum chops. Evile takes thrash to a new level, and there are not many bands left that can match their ambition.

      1. Five Serpent's Teeth
      2. In Dreams of Terror
      3. Cult
      4. Eternal Empire
      5. Xaraya
      6. Origin of Oblivion
      7. Centurion
      8. In Memoriam
      9. Descent Into Madness
      10. Long Live New Flesh

      My rating: 8/10


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Tracklist: 1. Five Serpent's Teeth 2. In Dreams of Terror 3. Cult 4. Eternal Empire 5. Xaraya 6. Origin of Oblivion 7. Centurion 8. In Memoriam 9. Descent into Madness 10. Long Live the New Flesh

Products you might be interested in