Welcome! Log in or Register

Flesh Tone - Kelis

  • image
£3.60 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Pop R&B / Artist: Kelis / Audio CD released 2010-05-17 at Interscope

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.10.2010 18:44
      Very helpful



      Something different in the world of manufactured pop.

      I'm really not a big fan of pop music, In fact anything R n B or Hip Hop I automatically hate it - the extent of my narrow mindedness. Anyway, this explains why ever since 'Kaleidoscope' I have had to hide my actual enjoyment of Kelis' music.

      Anyway, ever since 'Flesh Tone' came out, I have literally become obsessed with Kelis, It is definitely my favourite album of 2010. I think mainly because it is so different from all the conventional 'manufactured' pop acts.

      It's true - she's maybe not the best singer in th whole world, but she is very talented, her Lyrics seem very personal, and are all brilliant, and are overall very catchy.

      The feel of the album is amazing, its very dancy, and yet easy listening at the same time, as well as being 'house' music (something else I'm not really into) as well electronica.

      I like the fact that this album is quite personal to her, she was signed with Will.I.Am's record label, and apparently recorded the majority of music in her own home, and so sounds contemporary and still remains unique to her - all this without sounding to 'out there,' she doesn't sound like she's trying to be unique and different - she just does. (If you know what I mean).

      I also like the way all the songs merge into one another - an interesting technique - although it's kind of annoying on my Ipod, as it does this already, but I still like it.

      The only problem I have is that none of the songs feel like 'Singles' (ones that could be released,' I listen to them and think 'They all sound like they should be on her album, but would never be successful commercially as a single on their own.' And all the songs are so similar, they sound all the same with their own little twist.

      I would definitely recommend this album - it's brilliant, and I'm surprised that it did so badly in the charts - as everyone I know who's listened to it has loved it. If you have heard 'Accapella' I wouldn't say this is a true representation of the album - you need to listen to the whole thing to really 'get it.'


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Intro
    2 22nd Century/Segue 1
    3 4th of July (Fireworks)/Segue 2
    4 Home/Segue 3
    5 Acapella/Segue 4
    6 Scream
    7 Emancipate/Segue 5
    8 Brave/Segue 6
    9 Song For The Baby

Products you might be interested in