Welcome! Log in or Register

For Victory - Bolt Thrower

  • image
£6.34 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Bolt Thrower / Audio CD released 1999-09-01 at Earache

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.04.2008 12:01
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Bolt Thrower's fifth album (1994).

      By the time of their fifth album, Bolt Thrower were firmly established as a leading force in British death metal, but unlike the ever-evolving Carcass, their creativity ground more or less to a halt once they settled on a comfortable style. 1994's '...For Victory' offers nothing new that hadn't already been heard on the previous two releases, led by steady, medium-tempo guitars unleashing the occasional epic riff in song after repetitive song.

      Baz Thompson's lead guitar is the key ingredient that keeps Bolt Thrower's music entertaining, even if it's no longer particularly compelling, but even these excellent lead melodies and solos (reaching their peak in the title song) start to become less enthralling as the album plods on, merely for all taking the same approach. Karl Willetts is still evidently passionate about the war lyrics he roars with gusto, keeping the vocal side of the album strong right to the end, but even this subject matter is becoming a little stale by this point, especially in comparison to some of the fiercer death metal bands emerging across the world whose barrage of riffs succeed to a greater degree in encapsulating the sensation of being pummelled repeatedly in the chest by space-age bullets (Dismember's 'Massive Killing Capacity' being my personal favourite).

      1. War
      2. Remembrance
      3. When Glory Beckons
      4. ...For Victory
      5. Graven Image
      6. Lest We Forget
      7. Silent Demise
      8. Forever Fallen
      9. Tank (MK 1)
      10. Armageddon Bound


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 War
      2 Remembrance
      3 When Glory Beckons
      4 For Victory
      5 Graven Image
      6 Lest We Forget
      7 Silent Demise
      8 Forever Fallen
      9 Tank (MK1)
      10 Armageddon Bound

    Products you might be interested in