Welcome! Log in or Register

Forever Cher - Dark Lady

  • image
£6.55 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop - Dance Pop / Artist: Dark Lady / Audio CD released 2005-07-18 at Rumour

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.10.2009 15:23
      Very helpful




      Why waste money on a genuine Cher album when you can buy an album of cover versions by the mysteriously named Dark Lady. Totally unknown in the UK, Dark Lady is apparently the number one Cher tribue artist in the US. That's her on the front cover, looking a little bit like Cher, but more like Lou Diamond Phillips in drag.

      There are twelve tracks on disc one and then fifteen songs merged into a lovely megamix on the second CD. We begin with the rousing 'Bang Bang' which has a delightful bouncy bassline, I was surprised to hear how deep this woman's voice is. She sounds quite Cher, though isn't quite there. Quite a good dancey version of the track though.

      'If I Could Tturn Back Time' is an epic Cher song so needed some severe work to improve it. It does not improve, but adds a pleasing dance twist. Synth stabs and a decent bass hook meet her vocals somewhere in the middle to produce an acceptable high nrg cover. If you enjoyed this, then you might like 'I Found Someone.' There are some suspect synths in here which sound quite dated and naff, but the vocal lifts the track and again a really lively bassline charges the song. The introduction of some feisty guitars adds a snappyness too.

      Cher's biggie 'Believe' did not need covering as it was dancey enough as it was, but this version is not so bad. Good drum rolls and a keen rhythm drive it along and again a confident and commanding vocal to it justice, even the vocoders appear again!

      The less widely discussed 'Song For The Lonely' is not so successful, failing to build on the charm of the original, the synths sound way too cheesy here and a lot of the emotional impact is lost along the way.

      This is not a bad covers album, but stick with the real deal if you want a proper treat. The megamix is best reserved for rainy days.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Bang Bang
    2 Half Breed
    3 If I Could Turn Back Time
    4 I Found Someone
    5 Walking In Memphis
    6 One By One
    7 Believe
    8 Strong Enough
    9 All Or Nothing
    10 Song For The Lonely
    11 Different Kind Of Love Song
    12 Love One Another

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Walking In Memphis (Mixed)
    2 All Or Nothing (Mixed)
    3 If I Could Turn Back Time (Mixed)
    4 Song For The Lonely (Mixed)
    5 Bang Bang (mixed)
    6 Strong Enough (Mixed)
    7 Dark Lady (Mixed)
    8 Different Kind Of Love Song (Mixed)
    9 Half Breed (Mixed)
    10 Love One Another (mixed)
    11 I Found Someone (Mixed)
    12 One By One (Mixed)
    13 Love And Understanding (Mixed)
    14 Believe (mixed)
    15 Shoop Shoop Song (It's In His Kiss) (Mixed)

Products you might be interested in