Welcome! Log in or Register

Forever Madonna - Classic Madonna Hits Remade & Remodelled - Melissa Totten

  • image
£2.71 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Melissa Totten / Audio CD released 2008-07-21 at Pinnacle

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      26.09.2009 18:00
      Very helpful



      not too bad

      Melissa Totten is Madonna, can't you tell?! She even looks like her. Well, ok maybe she isn't the real Madonna but she's as close as you're ever going to get. And if you can't afford to buy the real Madonna album, which you probably can't, you're obviously going to want to buy Melissa Totten's version aren't you?

      There are ten tracks here and then on the second disc, we get a wonderful megamix, mixed by Almighty stalwarts The Klubkids.

      'Frozen' sounds suspiciously like 'Frozen.' There was actually a dance version of this on the official Madonna single, so this version seems a bit pointless, though thumbs up to Melissa who does a good impression of Madge and the backing track is strong enough.

      'La Isla Bonita' is less pleasing, I prefer the mellow original. This dance rehash does not serve it very well, though Melissa turns in a good vocal and the rhythm is quite perky and again strong production boosts the appeal. Next up is 'Rain' which has a subtle and bouncy enough bass hook and a deep and resonating vocal. Not that well known a Madonna song, but quite a good choice, as it is something a bit different.

      Check out 'Secret' which is actually not bad. A slamming piano riff gives it some handbag edge and it reminds me of Loveland or Love To Infinity. Melissa's vocal is powerful and commands the track, a good effort again. The soppy 'This Used To Be My Playground' has a slimy bassline which I like and her vocals are pretty strong again, though not sure it works as a dance remake as the original was quite slow.

      My last tip is 'Into The Groove' with a feisty backing track and a keen vocal. Lacks the charm of the original, though it is hooky enough for me and I would dance to it.

      I am ashamed to admit, this is a surprisingly good covers album. Melissa Totten all is forgiven!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Frozen
    2 La Isla Bonita
    3 Rain
    4 Live To Tell
    5 Crazy For You
    6 Secret
    7 This Used To Be My Playground
    8 Take A Bow (Featuring Jason Prince)
    9 Love Don't Live Here Anymore
    10 Into The Groove

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Secret
    2 La Isla Bonita
    3 Take A Bow (Featuring Jason Prince)
    4 Into The Groove
    5 Live To Tell
    6 This Used To Be My Playground
    7 Frozen
    8 Rain
    9 Crazy For You
    10 Love Don\x{2019}T Live Here Anymore

Products you might be interested in