Welcome! Log in or Register

Forever Streisand: Dance Mixes Of Streisand Classics - Laine Kennedy

  • image
£7.48 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic / Artist: Laine Kennedy / Audio CD released 2005-11-28 at Klone

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.10.2009 15:42
      Very helpful




      Why go out and buy the new Barbra Streisand album, which is actually out this week, when you can spend the same amount of money on having some unknown woman sing the songs with a disco beat underneath them! This seems to be a winner, eleven songs then an eleven track megamix on the second disc. Obviously it is a must for people who insist on collecting every Streisand item ever, but for the casual buyer, it might be worth reserving judgement.

      Laine Kennedy launches into 'Evergreen' in a pleasing enough fashion, though her vocals sound a bit muffled and the backing track is very cheap, smacking of a done in five minutes kind of job. There is a sufficient breakdown though.

      Barry Gibb would be seething if he heard this version of 'Guilty.' Laine slaughters the song, taking away all the passion of the original and ropes in ropey singer Jason Prince to be Gibb. It is dismal and plodding and serves no purpose.

      I love the original 'Woman In Love' which is so tender and heartbreaking. This version is sung alright, but the production is cloudy and the vocals tame and it does not work as a dance remix either, not one for a club. 'You Don't Bring Me Flowers' has a riff which sounds like it has been lifted from about 1988 and a rather naff bass hook. Laine sings okay, though the ballad fails to translate as a remake and the male vocal is sinister and sounds like some night prowler.

      The last track is appropriately called 'Enough Is Enough'. It lacks punch and style in the backing track, but the inclusion of vocalist Angie Brown beefs it up a bit and at least it works as a dancefloor song. Skip the megamix which is all the same songs! Bah!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Evergreen
    2 Guilty - Kennedy, Laine & Jason Prince
    3 Stranger In A Strange Land
    4 Memory
    5 Send In The Clowns
    6 No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) - Kennedy, Laine & Angie Brown
    7 People
    8 Way We Were
    9 Woman In Love
    10 You Don't Bring Me Flowers - Kennedy, Laine & John Barry
    11 On A Clear Day - Kennedy, Laine & John Barry

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Woman In Love
    2 Way We Were
    3 Send In The Clowns
    4 Evergreen
    5 Guilty - Kennedy, Laine & Jason Prince
    6 Memory
    7 You Don't Bring Me Flowers - Kennedy, Laine & John Barry
    8 Stranger In A Strange Land
    9 No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) - Kennedy, Laine & Angie Brown
    10 People
    11 On A Clear Day

Products you might be interested in