Welcome! Log in or Register

Gatecrasher: Forever

  • image
£11.06 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - Electronica / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2006-06-26 at Gatecrasher

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      25.09.2009 12:18
      Very helpful




      Gatecrasher is all about uplifting trance music, glowsticks and having it large. It is perhaps fair to say that the sound of trance was at its peak in the late nineties and at the turn of the century. It is still popular, though not on the scale that it was back then. This is a forty disc album and there are three CDs of that kind of music, so you know what you're getting.

      Paul Van Dyk is a major trance player and a respected deejay. His stunning 'Avenue' appears here and is an instrumental. Kind of progressive, it takes a while to build, taking you on a journey of synths, swirling in and out of each other.

      System F deliver the goods with the epic 'Dance Valley Anthem' with a nailbiting riff and plenty of dutch synth stabs to keep you pert, One of the best tracks is 'Iguana' by Mauro Picotto which has a nagging riff and a thunderous bassline which will shake any dancefloor.

      Slusnik Lunar's scorching 'Sun' captures the spirit of summer and will make you think of warm beaches and ocean waves, quite magical. On a similar tip, the glorious '9PM' by ATB remains a dance classic with that twangy guitar and subtle vocal, summing up summer for me.

      Stalwarts Blank and Jones turn up the heat for 'Catch' employing their usual high energy riffs and catchy chords, while regulars Lange and Koglin turn in a feisty number with 'Bermuda' which has an invigorating and electric hook and a stunning breakdown which will make you go all tingly.

      If you want some different flavours, Basment Jaxx's 'Flylife' moves away from the trance vibe to more housey territory, while Kosheen turn in a spooky little number on 'Hide You' complete with a creepy riff and haunting lead vocal.

      My final tip is the amazing 'Scorchio' by Sasha and Emerson, which conjures up images of getting on a plane and touching down in Ibiza. This is a thorough compilation with a good selection and enough hits for recognition too.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Dark And Long - Underworld (1)
    2 Avenue - Van Dyk, Paul
    3 Dance Valley Theme 2001 - System F
    4 Iguana - Picotto, Mauro
    5 Legacy - Push (2)
    6 Arms Of Loren - Evoke (1)
    7 Holding On - DJ Manta
    8 Reincarnations - Morley, Steve
    9 Dead Cities - V-One
    10 From Russia With Love - Darey, Matt & DSP
    11 Red Sun Rising - Lost Witness
    12 For A Lifetime - Ascension (2)
    13 Sun - Slusnik Luna
    14 Don't Give Up - Chicane & Bryan Adams
    15 9pm (Till I Come) - ATB
    16 Revelation - Electrique Boutique
    17 It's Too Late - Flat 6

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Tracking Treasure Down - Gabriel & Dresden
    2 By Your Side - Thrillseekers & Gina Dootsen
    3 Can't Sleep - Above & Beyond
    4 Holding Onto Nothing - Agnelli & Nelson/Aureas
    5 Bermuda - Lange & Mike Koglin
    6 Narama - DT8 Project & Mory Kante
    7 Loves We Lost - Tiesto & Allure
    8 Candesco - Riley & Durrant
    9 Timeless - Holland, Will
    10 Without You - Dogzilla (2)
    11 Strange World 2006 - MIKE
    12 Monotone - Woods, Marcel (1)
    13 Catch - Blank & Jones
    14 Angel - Lost Tribe (2)
    15 Sosei - Airscape
    16 It's Up To You (Symsonic) - Rank 1
    17 Mirage - Hemstock & Jennings

    Disc #3 Tracklisting
    1 Everybody Loves A Carnival - Fatboy Slim
    2 Flylife - Basement Jaxx
    3 From Disco To Disco - Les Rythmes Digitales
    4 Walking Away - Egg (2)
    5 Swing 2 Harmony - Perasma
    6 Tell Me Why - Supermode
    7 Hide U - Kosheen
    8 Beautiful Things - Andain
    9 3000 Miles Away - Signal Runners
    10 Scorchio - Sasha & Emerson
    11 Mindcircus - Way Out West (1)
    12 Meet Her At The Love Parade - Da Hool
    13 Don't Be Afraid - Moonman
    14 Reflect - Three 'n One
    15 Home - Chakra (1)
    16 Love Will Come - Tomski & Jan Johnston

Products you might be interested in