Welcome! Log in or Register

Girl Happy - Elvis Presley

  • image
£13.98 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: Elvis Presley / Box set / Audio CD released 2003-03-28 at Follow That Dream

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.02.2009 02:13
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A classic album by the king of rock and roll.

      As a big Elvis fan I have a lot of his albums and only just thought about reviewing them, perhaps I can persuade some of today`s youth to listen to some real music, LOL!

      One of the albums in my collection is Girl Happy, this is a soundtrack album to the movie of the same name and features hits such as do not disturb, do the clam and the title track itself "girl happy".

      The album does not contain any of Elvis`s most popular tracks and that is partly what I like about it. There was a lot more to the king of rock and roll than just the mainstream tracks that everyone knows.

      The title track Girl Happy will be probably the only track non Elvis fans will have heard of and that is one reason to give the album a listen. Puppet on a string and meanest girl in town are great Elvis tracks that feature on this album but are seldom heard anywhere else.

      This album is a real hint of what Elvis was all about, pure vocals and brilliant toe tapping rock music, whether you are a fan or not there will be tracks on this fine album that will have you tapping your toes.


      Girl Happy
      Spring Fever
      Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce
      Startin' Tonight
      Wolf Call
      Do Not Disturb
      Cross My Heart and Hope to Die
      Meanest Girl in Town
      Do the Clam
      Puppet on a String
      I've Got to Find My Baby
      You'll Be Gone


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        25.12.2008 07:12
        Very helpful
        1 Comment



        Girl Happy

        GIRL HAPPY is another CD release from the Elvis Presley specialist record label FTD. The movie was Elvis' 17th film and was another one set on a beach, which by now was part of the Elvis film formula. This CD release features the music from the original soundtrack album, in addition to a selection of alternate cuts and outtakes which allow the Elvis aficionado to hear how these songs developed.

        Among the standout tracks are alternate takes of the title song, GIRL HAPPY. Here the band is playing slower than on the official master version, and the interplay between the guitars is wonderful. DO NOT DISTURB is a fluffy song which Elvis had real problems in recording. The outtakes here really show how frustrated he was becoming with the song, and the studio dialogue which is included is surprising to hear from someone who many of us take for granted could sing anything well. It just goes to show that what sounds as if it comes easy actually takes a lot of hard work.

        Overall then this is not an album for the general listener but for the real Elvis fans out there this is a must buy.


        Login or register to add comments
      • Product Details

        Disc #1 Tracklisting
        1 Girl Happy
        2 Spring Fever
        3 Fort Lauderdale
        4 Chamber of Commerce
        5 Starlin Tonight
        6 Wolf Call
        7 Do Not Disturb
        8 Cross My Heart and Hope to Die
        9 Meanest Girl in Town
        10 Do the Clam
        11 Puppet on a String
        12 I've Got to Find My Baby
        13 You'll Be Gone
        14 Puppet on a String [Takes 5, 6 & 7]
        15 Meanest Girl in Town [Takes 7, 8 & 9]
        16 Spring Fever [Take 4]
        17 Do Not Disturb [Takes 24, 25, 26 & 27]
        18 Cross My Heart and Hope to Die [Take 4]
        19 Girl Happy [Take 1, 2, 3 & 4]
        20 Puppet on a String [Take 10]
        21 Spring Fever [Takes 18, 19 & 21]
        22 Meanest Girl in Town [Take 11]
        23 Do Not Disturb [Take 35]
        24 Cross My Heart and Hope to Die [Take 9, 10 & 11]
        25 Girl Happy [Take 13]

      Products you might be interested in