Welcome! Log in or Register

Gleipnirs Smeder - Jotunspor

  • image
£11.52 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death & Black Metal / Artist: Jotunspor / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2006-04-24 at Satanas Rex

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      08.03.2010 21:14
      Very helpful



      Worth a look for fans of Blut Aus Nord and Reverence

      Released in 2006, 'Gleipnirs Smeder' is the first release by Jotanspur, a Norwegian black/ambient project consisting of Gorgoroth members King and Kvitrafn. By and large, the album consists of thudding, minimalist BM with a claustrophobic feel to it, hinting at Velvet Caccoon as well as possessing the disorienting feel of French industrial black metal band Blut Aus Nord, whilst it also has a depressive feel, recalling the torturous and depressive feel and stark, demented melodicisms of both Forgotten Tomb and Xasthur on occasion. This is merged in with passages of urgent, murky chugging and ominous and slowly-plodding industrial passages that again recall Blut Aus Nord, whilst ghostly clean nordic singing occasionally appears to soar above the gloom.

      The album is also filled with atmospheric sounds, such as the tricking of subterranean water, wolf howls, storm noises and the sounds of distant raging fires, and whilst hardly an original move it is executed with subtlety and adds well to the murky atmosphere of the album. Elswhere there are faster, more dynamic black metal passages that recall old Gorgoroth, if not as raw.

      Gleipnirs Smeder is nothing hugely original, but it is well put together and extremely enjoyable and atmospheric album with plenty of subtle charm, even if at 35 minutes it is a little on the short side.


      1. Gleipnirs Smeder 06:25
      2. Svartalvheims Djup 07:08
      3. Solartjuven 05:12
      4. Freke Han Renn... 03:53
      5. Sol Mun Svartne 03:40
      6. Ginnungagalder 04:55
      7. Ildkrig 04:06
      Total playing time 35:22


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 I Dokk Alves Djup
    2 Smir Dulramme Smedar
    3 Fenres Vaband
    4 Troll Hapt Lenkl
    5 Heitir Gleipni

Products you might be interested in