Welcome! Log in or Register

Graceful...yet Forbidding - Callenish Circle

  • image
£8.87 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Callenish Circle / Import / Audio CD released at Dsfa

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.04.2008 11:58
      Very helpful



      Callenish Circle's second album (1999).

      On the surface, Callenish Circle seems to be just another routine melodic death metal band playing the style defined by the likes of In Flames, Dark Tranquillity and At the Gates in the mid-nineties, but 'Graceful... Yet Forbidding' has a lot to offer for fans of the genre who, quite justly, expect to have heard it all.

      There's nothing groundbreaking here, but the guitar performance of Ronny Tyssen and Jos Evers is fairly exceptional, without going overboard and indulgent. Led by deep, heavy riffs that know when to evolve and when to repeat the same great melodic lines, these songs have a more resonant and even slightly more depressive quality than most melodic death metal, which tends to concern itself with an expression of aggression. Like the work of Opeth and October Tide, this is more carefully considered and emotive music, even if the harsh vocals and clichéd 1980s guitar solos may take a little getting used to.

      Patrick Savelkoul's vocals are relatively standard and don't do anything to impress here, growling along without the need for oppressive rasps or clean singing that would impede the effect, while Gavin Harte's drums keep everything grounded in death metal, even during the slower songs. Even Roland Schuschke's bass is an important ingredient, fleshed out by the high production values and working excellently against the melodic guitars. Finally, guest keyboardist Bram Kortooms (if that's his real name, I'm pretty impressed and wish it was mine) makes his presence felt in the finale 'Alone...' without getting in the way elsewhere.

      1. No Reason
      2. Forgotten
      3. Inner Battle
      4. Beyond...
      5. Broken
      6. Oppressed Natives
      7. Silent Tears
      8. Passionate Dance
      9. Caught By Deceit
      10. Shadows of the Past
      11. Alone...


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    1. No reason / 2. Forgotten / 3. Inner Battle / 4. Beyond... / 5. Broken / 6. Oppressed Natives / 7. Silent Tears / 8. Passionate Dance / 9. Caught By Deceit 10. Shadows Of The Past / 11. Alone... / 12. Silent Tears / 13. Escape / 14. Broken / 15. Mirror Of Serenity

Products you might be interested in