Welcome! Log in or Register

The Great Nina Simone - Nina Simone

  • image
£1.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Jazz / Artist: Nina Simone / Audio CD released 1999-06-11 at Music Club

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      29.10.2000 20:55
      Very helpful



      Okay Nina Simone, it's about time we set the record straight, you know this woman can sing, of course you do, but I mean she can really sing, the sort of voice that goes right to your bones and right into your soul. A great voice is one thing, couple with stunning songs and you've got a remarkable recipe. Everything song on this album is amazing, her voice is able to carry songs like few others. The classic 'I Love You Porgy'. there is a wonderful husky nightclub atmosphere to the tracks, it reminds you of dimly lit smoky nightclubs. Compare this woman with modern artists and you can be left in no doubt that we have lost something in today's music. also on this album you get treated to Nina's cover of the Animal's classic 'Please Don't me be Misunderstood', haunting stuff. This album should open to other avenues, from this era ther are many great vocalists from this period, this lovely sound is worth its wieght in gold. Please buy this album you will be spellbound.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      11.09.2000 02:32
      Very helpful



      Not usually one to buy 'greatest hits' or compilation albums I caved in an bought 'the great Nina Simone', showing a perfect skinned 60s girl on the front sleeve. With her dark, heavily made-up, fake-eyelashed eyes one might expect cover versions of 60's pop songs about broken hearts and popsicles. But anyone who knows anything about Nina Simone would know to expect great blues and a fantastic vocalist. Simones smokey, sensual voice accompanies her own distinguished piano arrangements. So deep and sublime, Simones voice has been popular with lovers of jazz, soul, gospel, blues and pop. Yet she has stuck to her own thing throughout her career, avoiding pushes to perform for the more commercial side of the music industry. This compilation holds three of her most famous tracks, 'I Loves You Porgy', recorded by Bethlehem in 1957 and written by George Gershwin for a folk opera; 'Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood', later recorded by The Animals; 'My Baby Just Cares for me', which was shot to fame due to a relatively recent perfume ad. 'I loves you Porgy' is a majestic, emotive love song, accentuated beautifully by Simone's soft voice and timing. It is an excerpt from 'I Wants to Stay Here', a song in Gershwins musical/opera 'Porgy and Bess'. I prefer it to the Ella Fitzgerald version I have heard because it is so much more passionate and shows better the desparation that Bess is feeling within the play. 'Love Me or Leave Me', the opening track, is charged with blues and sets a faster pace than most of the other songs on this album. 'Mood Indigo', eloquently named and transfused with jazz is concerned with your typical blues subject of 'you ain't never been as blue as..'. 'Little Girl Blue' starts, surprisingly, with a simplified piano melody of 'Good King Wenceslas', but in a quiet but dramatic cresce
      ndo builds up to some beautiful lyrics, whose overall effect is deeply relaxing. 'Don't smoke in bed' provides a tense caution to listeners and their lovers. 'African Mailman' is more up-beat, combining jazz and soul with hip-bopping bass and piano. Purely instrumental, this track illustrates some of Simone's best talents as a pianist. 'Please don't let me be misunderstood', for those who have only ever heard the Animals version, is so soulful and takes on a completely different perspective and sound with female vocals. The well-defined piano throughout this album perfectly attributes Simone's elevated voice. With many more beautiful tracks on this compilation Nina Simone is well worth looking out for. I think the thing I love about Nina Simone is her talent at creating fantastic music, featuring the piano. She was originally set to become a concert pianist, but because of her race, difficulties were created to prevent her from doing this. Her anger and frustration at the disappointments she has had in her life comes out in her music, which is intense and heartfelt. Hits missing from this compilation include 'I Put a Spell on You', 'Gin House Blues', her own composition 'To Be Young Gifted and Black', and 'To Love Somebody'. Simone became a spokesperson for the civil rights movement in America from the 1970's onwards, as talented at addressing political rallies as playing and singing. 'Don't smoke in bed' and 'Plain Gold Ring' have been recently recorded by KD Lang and Nick Cave, bringing her music firmly into the latest musical era. With so many wonderful songs and such talent I am amazed that she has not been more famous, but perhaps that adds a little to her mystique.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Love Me Or Leave Me
      2 Mood Indigo
      3 I Loves You Porgy
      4 Little Girl Blue
      5 Central Park Blues
      6 Don't Smoke In Bed
      7 For All We Know
      8 He Needs Me
      9 African Mailman
      10 Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
      11 Ain't Got No (I Got Life)
      12 Ain't No Use
      13 After You've Gone
      14 Four Women
      15 Good Bait
      16 Plain Gold Ring
      17 He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
      18 My Baby Just Cares For Me

    Products you might be interested in