Welcome! Log in or Register

Greatest Hits - David Gray

  • image
£7.89 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Folk - Welsh Folk / Artist: David Gray / Audio CD released 2007-11-12 at Atlantic

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.02.2009 19:14
      Very helpful




      David Gray is one of those artists who you simply have to play when your life has hit an all-time low. I don't mean that in a bad way, but his style is quite depressing. This album gathers some of his finest hits.

      Who is he:

      Manchester based David found fame with his 'White Ladder' album which took about a year to finally peak at the number one spot!

      On this album:

      The rousing 'Babylon' is one I always head to straight away. I never quite understood what he was singing about, maybe the hanging gardens of Babylon or just something he made up. The tune is lovely though and sweeps over you, it is one of his more melodic moments. I also love 'Please Forgive Me' which finds David making a heartfelt plea to a loved one. His vocals on this come through with a tenderness and hint of sorrow. The track might make you feel quite sad, but the pianoline in it will lift the spirits.

      Other Highlights:

      I approve of 'This Year's Love' which is a very sombre affair, it is the kind of track you could imagine playing when you split with a loved one. David manages to show he isn't just full of gloom, 'Hosptial Food' is a wittier song and more light hearted than the other offerings. My top tip though is the mesmerising 'Sail Away' where the vocals are resonant and sound hollow inside. It will leave you with a lump in your throat.


      Intelligent lyrics, a unique voice and superb songs. Very very good.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 You're The World To Me
      2 Babylon
      3 The One I Love
      4 Please Forgive Me
      5 Be Mine
      6 Hospital Food
      7 This Year's Love
      8 Alibi
      9 Sail Away
      10 Shine (Live at Hammersmith Apollo)
      11 Caroline
      12 The Other Side
      13 Flame Turns Blue
      14 Destroye

    Products you might be interested in