Welcome! Log in or Register

Griefshire - Elis

  • image
£7.24 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Elis / Audio CD released 2006-11-27 at Napalm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.07.2008 00:17
      Very helpful



      Elis' third album (2006).

      Written and sung by Sabine Dünser and released shortly after her untimely death, 'Griefshire' ran the risk of being overrated to the extreme in a Kurt Cobain manner, but fortunately it lives up to expectations of being an above-average gothic metal album.

      Dünser's vocal performance is pleasant, especially when singing in her native German in tracks two and five, but her support from growled male vocals in 'Beauty-and-the-Beast' style still feels like an overused gimmick of the genre, a contrived means to balance the songs between light and darkness without having to put in the effort musically. The instruments are all fairly standard, the guitar mainly being there to define a rhythm, but there are still some nice solos scattered throughout.

      There's an enjoyable degree of diversity in this album, even if it takes fairly obvious forms. 'Remember the Promise' is a bit faster and more energetic than the rest, while 'How Long' and 'Forgotten Love' are both standard ballads, but excusable and indeed relevant thanks to the conceptual story linking the album together.

      1. Tales from Heaven or Hell
      2. Die Stadt
      3. Show Me the Way
      4. Brothers
      5. Seit dem anbeginn der Zeit
      6. Remember the Promise
      7. Phoenix from the Ashes
      8. How Long
      9. Innocent Hearts
      10. Forgotten Love
      11. The Burning
      12. A New Decade


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Tales from Heaven or Hell
    2 Die Stadt
    3 Show Me the Way
    4 Brothers
    5 Seit Dem Anbeginn der Zeit
    6 Remember the Promise
    7 Phoenix from the Ashes
    8 How Long
    9 Innocent Hearts
    10 Forgotten Love
    11 Burning
    12 New Decade

Products you might be interested in