Welcome! Log in or Register

Hated On Mostly - Crime Mob

  • image
£3.98 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - Southern / Artist: Crime Mob / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2007-02-13 at Warner

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.03.2009 08:35
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Crime Mob's second album

      Crime Mob's second album, "Hated On Mostly" came out in 2007, and had them finally break-out into the mainstream in the Dirty South Hip Hop sub-genre of Crunk with the hit single, "Rock Yo Hip", which featured Lil' Scrappy. Cyco Black, Lil' Jay, Diamond, Princess, and MIG all return for yet more Memphis-influenced wok as they come with lots of high-energy club tunes for their hometown of Atlanta, Georgia.

      1. "Represent"

      To start the album off, you have a track from them which has Lil' Jay taking on the production role in things and he chooses o show what they are about with the Gangsta Rap technique of using gun shots and bass beats, and it really makes an impact as the record is begun with a powerful burst of energy.

      **Five Stars**

      2. "Hated On Mostly"

      The eponymous tune from this has them speaking on how they live in a crab bucket society, and since they have made it, they have heard nothing but hate from those who were lose to them before. It is typical of this underground Atlanta sound, but they seem to have capitalised upon this with music which has been able to comment on how difficult it is to make it with so many trying to do the same around you.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "On The Rise"

      It's start to believe that they were able to really make it as a big label rap group, as they don't appear to have changed a thing about them, and are just as gritty as on their first album, so with this in mind, hearing a tune which has them speaking on how they have climbed up to the position they are currently in.

      **Four Stars**

      4. "2nd Look"

      DJ Montay, the man behind tracks by Unk, Baby D, and Shawty Lo (amongst others) is the producer of this joint and he gives them one of the Crunkest beats you have ever heard, and it gives them the chance to just rip through everything as they get into yet more Gangsta Rap and attempt to show, as they did on their eponymously-named debut, how they are able to support themselves.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "Rock Yo Hips"

      His was the biggest tunes o come off the album, and it gets them working at their best as they perform in a collaboration alongside BME's Lil' Scrappy. Compared to most tunes they do, this one is rather gentle, and has them appearing to attempt to break into the more dance-preferring side of A-Town than the Buck sound which has its root in Memphis Rap.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "Shine Cause I Grind"

      This one has one of the other big collaborations on the album as you here Mike Jones been used on a screwed hook, and it sets it off nicely as they go into a tune which has them returning to their underground-type of stuff. Although some may not feel this, it is where they have come from, and it is good to see they haven't forgotten it.

      **Four Stars**

      7. "Sign In The Air"

      He group do another one to show that they are always down for their gang, and so aren't afraid to throw up their set, and display that they are down to do whatever for them, and even call out other opposing squads. It is another ruff you from them, and they continue to do more Buck rap with chants running through it the whole time.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Go To War"

      This is a killer track from them, and you just can' get any better than this as you have them doing another collaboration with Lil' Scrappy, but this one has an ever more exciting guest as it has them with UGK's Pimp C too, and it makes the thing a killer with the highly-respected Texan MC dominating the track.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Circles"

      This was one of the singles off the album, but it didn't receive as much attention as "Rock Yo Hips", as they seem to do something which sounds absolutely nothing like what they have been heard doing up to this point with things seemingly taking heavy influence from R&B, and how to calm down the music as a result, and it makes for a very good tune from them.

      **Five Stars**

      10. "We Some Playaz"

      On this one, it seems to get them doing what they are known to do, but they appear to tone it down a little as they are attempting to pull in more fans with a more commercial album. I thought that this improved the sound of it all, but it could have been better if they had stuck to what they are truly about, and not a watered-down version of this.

      **Four Stars**

      11. "Big Boi Pimpin'"

      On the album before this, you had them on a track which was kind of similar to this in the fact that it had them doing one about relationships, and it seemed very much out-of-character to do so, however this time round it appears that they have made up for the mistake on the last one and come up with something which is able to retain their characters as Gs.

      **Five Stars**

      12. "All Madden"

      This is a heavy Buck track from them as it has them getting Crunk yet again with lots of winding synth from them and heavy beats. It's fun for them to liken their position in the Hip Hop game as being All-Madden, and they work off this main idea well to form another big track by them.

      **Five Stars**

      13. "Wuz Up"

      Ending the album off, we have a big underground cut which went to have an all-star remix made for it. In this first one, you have them aided by beats from only the best in the Crunk game as you hear Lil' Jon on the beats, and from this you have them just taking things to another level as they bring things to the original days of Crunk where it was all about fight music, and less light club tunes.

      **Five Stars**

      This is a consistent album from the group, and there isn't a single weak point in the thing as each tune is a big one, and they are able to modify the Crunk sound slightly in order to come out with a broad range of differing tunes, which all make sense. If you are into your hardcore Crunk tunes, then this one is for you.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Represent
      2 Hated on Mostly
      3 On the Rise
      4 2nd Look
      5 Rock Yo Hips - Crime Mob, Lil Scrappy
      6 Shine Cause I Grind
      7 Sign in the Air
      8 Go to War - Crime Mob, Lil Scrappy, Pimp C
      9 Circles
      10 We Some Playaz
      11 Big Boy Pimpin'
      12 All-Madden
      13 Wuz Up - Bohagon, Crime Mo

    Products you might be interested in