Welcome! Log in or Register

Heartthrob - Tegan And Sara

  • image
£13.44 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Folk Rock / Artist: Tegan And Sara / Audio CD released 2013-02-11 at WARNER BROS

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.04.2013 22:24
      Very helpful



      A bold new direction which mostly works

      The duo Tegan and Sara have built their reputation up by releasing a string of smart, savvy acoustic-rock confessional songs over the past decade. Their previous album 'The Con' is probably their most famous, and revered work, but the band have changed their sound dramatically for this latest album 'Heartthrob'.

      Gone are the guitars and distinctive dual layered voices, being replaced by thumping electronic drumbeats and highly produced vocal melodies. The album opener ' Closer' is one of the strongest cuts here, it's euphoric chorus disguising the rather flimsy lyrical work. My personal favourite is 'Love They Say' which retains a little of Tegan and Sara's original spirit with the undercurrent of an acoustic guitar carrying the song along.

      The lyrics are definately the weakest link when it comes to 'Heartthrob' - Nothing is really said above the basic set of 'wants and needs' - Strange when lyrics used to be the band strongest suit.

      I would recommend this album as a summer blast - To have playing loud in the car as you drive at to the beach at the weekend - Just dont expect the same amount of depth as the bands previous work.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Closer
    2 Goodbye, Goodbye
    3 I Was A Fool
    4 I'm Not Your Hero
    5 Drove Me Wild
    6 How Come You Don't Want Me
    7 I Couldn't Be Your Friend
    8 Love They Say
    9 Now I'm All Messed Up
    10 Shock To Your System

Products you might be interested in