Welcome! Log in or Register

Heathenreel - Elvenking

  • image
£8.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Elvenking / Audio CD released 2006-03-20 at Afm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.07.2008 18:53
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Elvenking's first album (2001).

      Elvenking's debut is one of the best examples of folk metal I've ever heard, bringing a superb foresty flavour to what would otherwise be fairly standard, yet still enormously fun power metal. This Italian band clearly has its precedent in the classic metal tradition which allows for some great guitar work and an evolving sense of song structure comparable to Iron Maiden, but it's the folk elements that stand out the most, and they're not merely restricted to the occasional guest appearance by a flute or violin.

      Every one of these songs has a folk core, whether it's in the melody of the chorus or the guitar playing, and even the heavier, thrashier offerings such as 'White Willow' can't escape it entirely. This presents a problem if the listener isn't so into the folk elements, but the solution there is to merely avoid this completely and check out something safer by Blind Guardian. The songs do become a little too similar as the album continues, with only the acoustic ballad 'Skywards' and the short, fun 'Hobs an' Feathers' breakings things up.

      1. To Oak Woods Bestowed
      2. Pagan Purity
      3. The Dweller of Rhymes
      4. The Regality Dance
      5. White Willow
      6. Skywards
      7. Oakenshield
      8. Hobs an' Feathers
      9. Conjuring of the 14th
      10. A Dreadful Strain
      11. Seasonspeech


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 To Oak Woods Bestowed
      2 Pagan Purity
      3 Dweller of Rhymes
      4 Regality Dance
      5 White Willow
      6 Skywards
      7 Oakenshield
      8 Hobs and Feathers
      9 Conjuring of the 14th
      10 Dreadful Strain
      11 Seasonspeech

    Products you might be interested in