Welcome! Log in or Register

Heaven is Whenever - The Hold Steady

  • image
£9.35 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: The Hold Steady / Audio CD released 2010-05-03 at Rough trade

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.05.2010 17:11
      Very helpful



      Return to form for The Hold Steady

      The Hold Steady's fifth studio album, Heaven Is Whenever, looks to continue the bands ascent into the mainstream of the rock scene. After the enjoyable but somewhat disappointing previous effort, Stay Positive, this album marks a return to true form for the band delivering guitar hooks and lyrics that typify the bands approach to music.

      The first 3 tracks on the album start things of on a melancholic note and the combination works superbly in introducing the new album. The Smidge and Rock Problems then begin to ramp up the energy with heavier guitars entering the frame. This is before the albums centerpiece, and highlight, We Can Get Together, brings things back down to the slow and emotional with one of their best love songs yet. Lead off single Hurricane J continues the lively sound the Hold Steady are known for. The final three tracks are not as immediately enjoyable as the rest of the album but grow on you with more plays, ending the album concisely with the 7 minute A Slight Discomfort.

      Overall this is another great album by one of the best bands around at the moment. They continue their rock and roll sound and show that despite their age they are still able to compete with the young guns.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Sweet Part Of The City, The
    2 Soft In The Center
    3 Weekenders, The
    4 Smidge, The
    5 Rock Problems
    6 We Can Get Together
    7 Hurricane J
    8 Barely Breathing
    9 Our Whole Lives
    10 Slight Comfort, A

Products you might be interested in