Welcome! Log in or Register

Here's Little Richard - Little Richard

  • image
£6.04 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Little Richard / Audio CD released 2010-01-25 at Ace

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.03.2010 18:51
      Very helpful



      Little Richard's debut album

      "Here's Little Richard" was released in 1957 as the debut album from the Rock 'n' Roll singer Little Richard. It came the year after he dropped a string of successful hits, many of which found their way onto here as we find that he offers listeners a mixture of Jump Blues (which came out of Gospel and Rhythm & Blues) and Rock 'n' Roll. It helped establish him as one of many influential musicians in this style from the time.

      1. "Tutti Frutti"

      Opening up with his iconic "A-wop-bop-a-loo-bop-a-lop-bam-boom!", here we get his first real hit single. It's the perfect way to get the album underway as we get a straight killer of a track. It sets it off nicely and it has him showing just how well he's able to manage he's amazing voice to create a classic crossover Pop hit that you'd really have to have major issues with to complain about to any degree.

      **Five Stars**

      2. "True Fine Mama"

      Another relatively short one from him, here we see that he comes out with another power full one, and a track that would see moderate success as he pulls out another one where he uses recycled melodies that he knows will come up with the goods and keep listeners interested. I thought it was one that you didn't really need time to get used to as its power hits you from the get-go as we get a jazzy cut from him.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Can't Believe You Wanna Leave"

      With this one we see that the direction of the music is adapted somewhat as he records a blues track here and I felt that he did a really great job at putting this over to the listeners as he shows just how soulful his voice his and how is seems to express his emotions perfectly whilst doing what they refers to how his partner wants to leave the relationship that he shares with her. A big change from ones leading up to it, it's still a big one.

      **Four Stars**

      4. "Ready Teddy"

      Little Richard quickly recovers from his gloom as we see that here he gets rockin' and rollin' once more as he gets down into this one. It was one of the singles from the record and so it seems to really stand out as one that you need to take more attention to. With the way it's composed, I don't know how you wouldn't be taken in from the very moment the first trips come in and he sings a capella before the rest of the band returns to accompany him.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "Baby"

      Here we have a nice little one that finds him pulling out a mid-tempo one (so that we don't feel as though we are being quickly shifted from fast to slow songs constantly). It seemed to make for more empowering material that you really want to be a part of, but as he seems to calm down his vocals a little, it seems like an early breather for him before he goes on to perform much more intense pieces further down the line.

      **Four Stars**

      6. "Slippin' and Slidin'"

      Covered by the likes of Buddy Holly and Otis Redding, this is killer tune and one that you are bound to recognise. It's a fresh one and one that has its composers really messing around with what they are able to do with the resources available and I felt that the brass and percussion sections were particularly prominent here as they come to perform one of the biggest tracks that the album has to offer.

      **Five Stars**

      7. "Long Tall Sally"

      Resembling the swinging stuff that kicked the album off, we see that here we get more heavy material from him. Through the familiarity of the melodies which are brought here, he ensures that listeners are made to feel welcome (with knowledge of how well "Tutti Frutti" was received, and although you wouldn't be able to do this sort of thing now, he does a great job and making something more out of the framework that was used on others tracks here.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Miss Am"

      One of the later singles from the album, here we get a smooth mid-tempo one from him. Although some may have been put off by the fact his songs seem not only be composed one of three (or so ways) I thought that it was great to see how on this one he's once again able to show how he's able to pull out original ways to work from past material to make you want to get down with it once more.

      **Four Stars**

      9. "Oh Why?"

      Here we get a very different-sounding tune as we see that he dips into some more Blues-influenced stuff, but he managed to give it an edge to ensure that it isn't too intense, soulful to the point where it might put some off. I can't say that this one was particularly impressive and seemed to sit in as a track which didn't do all that much (in comparison to the others) but it still has a place on here as some filler.

      **Three Stars**

      10. "Rip It Up"

      Here he goes off with some fly Rock 'n' Roll material where he gets all energetic again. I thought that this one really stood out as we see that we get more experimentation on the part of his band (especially on the parts of Earl Palmer - drummer, and Edgar Blanchard - guitarist). It's a tune that I thought that fans of his wouldn't be able to resist as it's just so exciting and it shows just how much more energy he's got to give here.

      **Five Stars**

      11. "Jenny, Jenny"

      The direction of the music sounds largely unchanged from the last track to this one, and I thought that it was important for him to keep up this sort of thing to show that although the tracks are recorded as quick sub-three-minute-long blasts, that he can put tunes like this back to back and get the same results out of them without having to create contrast by placing a slower one in between them.

      **Five Stars**

      12. "She's Got It"

      The album ends off with a straight banger of a tune and one that seems to reflect the overall feel of the album. This one gives you all that other hits have and more. It's just perfect for a final blast of something to ensure that we get the most out of him and show all that he's capable at this point in his career. I couldn't have asked more from him and it tops the thing off in a way that's bound to appeal to all.

      **Five Stars**

      This is a killer album form Little Richard, and a great example of an early Rock 'n' Roll album. It's a really complete piece and we find that on it he comes with a nice variety of tunes. Although it may seem a little repetitive to some, I thought that it really did the job here and it acted as a great foundation to the rest of his career.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Tutti Frutti
      2 True Fine Mama
      3 Ready Teddy
      4 Baby
      5 Slippin' And Slidin'
      6 Long Tall Sally
      7 Miss Ann
      8 Oh Why
      9 Rip It Up
      10 Jenny Jenny
      11 She's Got It
      12 Can't Believe You Wanna Leave

    Products you might be interested in