Welcome! Log in or Register

Hummin' Comin' At 'cha - Xscape

  • image
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Pop R&B / Artist: Xscape / Import / Audio CD released 1993-10-12 at Sony

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.04.2010 14:18
      Very helpful



      Xscape's debut album

      Breaking into the game under Jermaine Dupri's So So Def record label, the R&B quartet Xscape made their debut in 1993 with "Hummin' Comin' At Cha". Consisting then of Tiny, Kandi, LaToscha and Tameka, they managed to get their names up in the game with a contemporary style mixed in with a little Quiet Storm that even managed to gain them a few Grammy nominations.

      1. "Hummin' Comin' At 'Cha" (Intro)

      2. "Just Kickin' It"

      They set the album off with what was their biggest hit single. I have to say that I didn't know them for this one and so I didn't find that it really stood out as others I knew. However, I have to say that what you get from this one is a killer and has the Atlanta, Georgia quartet setting it off nicely with a smooth and laid-back tune that has Jermaine Dupri experimenting with what the sound of the times should be like.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Pumpin'"

      Sampling Trouble Funk's Go-Go classic "Pump Me Up", we see that here we get a killer party tune and one that gets things lively as we move off a soft one and into a tune that contrasts-heavily from it and has them having fun with some fly post-New Jack Swing hyped R&B that everyone at the time would have wanted to hear. The tune goes hard and I can't see any room for complaints here whatsoever.

      **Five Stars**

      4. "Let Me Know"

      The group are seen to keep things swinging as they move into this one and we get the sort of thing that became prominent in the R&B game as the years went on and an alternative to the things heard in the late eighties to early nineties was found. The tune goes hard and using the piano loop from Boogie Down Productions' "The Bridge Is Over" is a nice added touch to give to the thing and make it sound complete.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "Understanding"

      We find that here things move on here and we're given a tune that has them pushing for a nice little ballad. I thought that this was a very nice piece and one that you have to enjoy as they come to show just what their vocals are capable of as they harmonize together whilst singing about where their relationship is failing and how they hope that the problems they have can be rectified somehow.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "W.S.S. Deez Nuts" (Lude)

      7. "With You"

      We come off an interlude to find that the four of time are down for another freaky tune and one that has them feeling the flows well by blasting out something fresh and likely to bring in a wide-ranging audience with the funky grooves in the production (coming from Jermaine Dupri) and with things such as a sample of James Brown's "Funky Drummer", we get a tune that you can't ignore the power of on this release.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Is My Living In Vain?"

      Here we see that we get the first major change in the music as we see that for the first time we have a tune that has them moving away from original material and this time turning towards a little something that has them using a throwback jam (this time from The Clark Sisters) to push them along and allow them to get the most out of their music as they show how (with the aid of JD's beats) they came bring the 1980 tune up to modern times.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Love On My Mind"

      We get lots of contemporary Hip Hop beats thrown into this one in order to make it appeal to both the girls and guys and I felt that it made for some great results as we see that from there the vocalists come to bring their powerful voices up to make for another killer tune that I really can't see too many people having problems with. The jam is a killer, and one that you have to look out for here.

      **Five Stars**

      10. "Tonight"

      We see that as we end the album (before a remix to a tune found within the album), we see that here we have a nice one where they decide to keep their material quite traditional. This one dropped as the third single from them (and the album) and I thought that it was nice to see them going for a nice and slow one to contrast with the energetic tunes so that we can fully-appreciate their voices.

      **Five Stars**

      This is a heavy album from Xscape and one that set up their careers well. I have to say that I was disappointed with where things would go on from there with their second album as what you get here is simply flawless as I can't see anywhere within this compact release where you may not enjoy yourself for what they offer here is of a very high standard.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Hummin' Comin' at 'Cha (Intro)
      2 Just Kickin' It
      3 Pumpin'
      4 Let Me Know
      5 Understanding
      6 W.S.S. Deez Nuts
      7 With You
      8 Is My Living in Vain?
      9 Love on My Mind
      10 Tonight
      11 Just Kickin' It [Remix]

    Products you might be interested in