Welcome! Log in or Register

I'm Like A Virgin Losing A Child - Manchester Orchestra

  • image
£22.21 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Manchester Orchestra / Audio CD released 2007-09-17 at Columbia

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      25.07.2008 15:52
      Very helpful



      10/10 - You need to stop what you are doing and listen to this album right now.

      I could listen to this album over and over again, it is the definition of music. The thought, emotion, passion and simple beauty put in to this album outweighs my entire music collection put together.

      Some songs are as simple as one man singing with a simple guitar riff. And others are powerful fast paced songs backed by the full band. The lyrics are flawless, they all piece together a wonderful collection of stories. Some are simple, some are more complex. There is a strong religious tone to their lyrics. I am an Atheist and despite the religious undertones in the album, I still find it amazing.

      'Wolves At Night' is the first track on the album. It's the fastest track on the album. It's a very good song. The album title is taken from this track : "Cause I confide in wolves at night, I'm like a virgin losing a child"

      'Now That You're Home' is the second song on the album, and it is about his belief in God changing as he grew up.

      'The Neighbourhood is Bleeding' is the next track. It seems to be about all the problems in the world and needing a cure for it, but I am not sure. It's a pretty good song.

      'I Can Feel Your Pain' is about avoiding bad news. It's the first song on the album without the whole band. It is raw, real, simple and amazing.

      'Where Have You Been?' is the longest song on the album, and the full band returns for this song. The amazing lyrics continue : "They call holidays an option for a reason."
      One lyric in the song refers to a dream where Hull's Mother kidnapped and ate his friends stands out : "When you look at me, I'll be digesting your legs."

      'I Can Barely Breathe' is my favourite track on the album. It starts off with a simple guitar riff followed by vocals. It then builds up until the whole band joins in. The song is a 5 minute journey, stopping for nothing.

      "If you knew I was dying, would it change you?"
      "If seeing is believing, then believe that we have lost our eyes"

      'Sleeper 1972' is a fictional song about his Fathers death based on a dream that Andy Hull, the lead singer, had. He sings backed by just a keyboard/organ, the emotion behind this song is amazing.

      'Golden Ticket' is another good track, but it's not the best on the album. 'Alice and Interiors' is fast paced and catchy. Another strong song. 'Don't Let Them See You Cry' is just 1 minute and 42 seconds, and is Andy and his guitar. It's simple, yet special.

      'Colly Strings' is a stunning song. It starts off quietly with Andy and his guitar, backed with a soft keyboard sound. After two minutes, the drums join in. The beauty of the song continues, the whole band joins in as the song gets slightly faster. It lasts just under six minutes and it is gripping. "Well don't stop calling, you're the reason I love losing sleep"

      This album is beautiful. It's epic, and you need to listen to it as soon as possible. Every song amazes me. Manchester Orchestra - 'I'm Like A Virgin Losing A Child' is a must for every music fan


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Wolves At Night
    2 Now That You're Home
    3 Neighborhood Is Bleeding
    4 I Can Feel Your Pain
    5 Where Have You Been
    6 I Can Barely Breathe
    7 Sleeper 1972
    8 Golden Ticket
    9 Alice And Interiors
    10 Don't Let Them See You Cry
    11 Colly Strings

Products you might be interested in