Welcome! Log in or Register

In Defence of the Genre - Say Anything

  • image
£16.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Say Anything / Import / Audio CD released 2007-10-29 at J

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.02.2009 13:02
      Very helpful



      Something for everybody on beast of an album

      This third album from the over-stuffed brain of Max Bemis arrives with a veritable whos-who list of guest appearances, and an overlong tracklisting that will demand much patience from his legion of fans. After the success of classic 'Is A Real Boy', Say Anything return with a 27 track behomoth to bewitch, bedazzle and bemuse much of the listening world.

      Disc 1 is much the stronger, the one-two punch of 'Skinny Mean Man' and 'No Soul' setting the scene perfectly - Flitting between snarled vocals, chopping guitars and electronic beats - the eclecticism within these first tracks are an indication of what to expect for the next 2 hours. In terms of the guest appearances, Hayley Williams (Paramore) brings most to the album - Her work on 'The Church Channel' and 'Plea' adding an extra dimension to the songs

      Disc 2 doesnt fare as well, it's less instant, and more sprawling than the first disc - It does, however, contains the albums best song, 'About Falling' which is an absolute gem, and the equal of anything from 'Is A Real Boy'

      All in all, this is another fine piece of work from Mr Bemis - His Bi-polar syndrome may be all to apparent with the schizo style of the songs - but he also manages to fit more ideas, bile and spite into his lyrics than most.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Skinny Mean Man
    2 No Soul
    3 That Is Why
    4 Surgically Removing The Tracking Device
    5 This Is Fucking Ecstacy
    6 Church Channel
    7 Shiksa
    8 Baby Girl I'm A Blur
    9 Retarded In Love
    10 People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist
    11 Died A Jew
    12 An Insult To The Dead
    13 Sorry Dudes My Bad

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Spay Me
    2 In Defense Of The Genre
    3 Truth Is You Should Lie With Me
    4 Word You Wield
    5 Vexed
    6 About Falling
    7 You're The Wanker If Anyone Is
    8 Spores
    9 We Killed It
    10 Have At Thee
    11 Hangover Song
    12 Goodbye Young Tutor You've Now Outgrown Me
    13 I Used To Have A Heart
    14 Plea

Products you might be interested in