Welcome! Log in or Register

In The Nightside Eclipse - Emperor

  • image
£18.88 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Emperor / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2004-10-25 at Candlelight

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.07.2008 19:48
      Very helpful



      Emperor's first album (1994).

      Emperor were one of the defining bands of Norwegian black metal, and 'In the Nightside Eclipse' was their first full-length recording after several equally iconic shorter releases. Blasted with atmospheric keyboards and tremolo-plucking guitar riffs creating a desolate wintry soundscape, this is seen as a classic of the genre by many, and probably as a load of treble-heavy screaming noise by others. But what do they know. Actually, that's partly accurate.

      This is a harsh album first and foremost, and the melodic elements that are certainly present are only ever secondary. Samoth's guitars rarely deviate from the wall of sound approach, and it's only Ihsahn's keyboards that pioneer the symphonic element. There's very little variation here to the untrained ear, but increased familiarity with the album will reveal its nuances, such as the steady, almost doom metal riffs of 'Beyond the Great Vast Forest' and the increased melodic quotient of the excellent 'The Majesty of the Nightsky.'

      1. Intro
      2. Into the Infinity of Thoughts
      3. The Burning Shadows of Silence
      4. Cosmic Keys to My Creations & Times
      5. Beyond the Great Vast Forest
      6. Towards the Pantheon
      7. The Majesty of the Nightsky
      8. I Am the Black Wizards
      9. Inno a Satana


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Into The Infinity Of Thoughts
    2 Burning Shadows Of Silence
    3 Cosmic Keys To My Creations & TImes
    4 Beyond The Great Vast Forest
    5 Towards The Pantheon
    6 Majesty Of The Nightsky
    7 I Am The Black Wizards
    8 Into A Satana
    9 A Fine Day To Die
    10 Gypsy

Products you might be interested in