Welcome! Log in or Register

Infiniment: 40 Chansons - Jacques Brel

  • image
£11.81 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: World Music / Artist: Jacques Brel / Audio CD released 2003-10-20 at Barclay France

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      18.05.2007 16:42
      Very helpful




      This double-CD is a reasonable attempt to cover Jacques Brel's whole career in a fine collection of 40 tracks that range from early compositions like 'Le diable' to some of his final recordings such as 'L'amour est mort' The CD includes some of his most well known songs: "Ne me quitte pas", "Jojo", "Les bonbons", "Chanson des vieux amants", "Amsterdam" and "Les bourgeois". There are five previously unpublished songs in this collection: "La Cathedrale" " Mai 40", "L'Amour est Mort", "Sans Exigences" and "Avec Elegance". Everything has been re-mastered for a cleaner sound and this is certainly a worthwhile improvement from some of the same recordings you might find on earlier Brel collections. There are however some notable exclusions from this album. Some of his most potent songs from the late 1950s are omitted such as 'Seul', 'La mort' and 'La tendresse'. Earlier recordings such as the beautifully rendered 'Sur la place' are also absent. But I guess with such a rich back catalogue it really is difficult not to miss out some Brel classics. These omissions certainly do not deter from making this a fantastic collection.

      A highly recommended collection.

      ~~ Tracks ~~

      1. La Quete
      2. La Cathedrale
      3. L'amour Est Mort
      4. Mai 40
      5. Avec Elegance
      6. Sans Exigences
      7. Les Marquises
      8. Orly
      9. La Vil S'Endormait
      10. Jojo
      11. J'arrive
      12. Quand On N'a Que L'Amour
      13. Le Plat Pays
      14. Mon Enfance
      15. Les Vieux
      16. La Chanson De Jacky
      17. La Valse A Mille Temps
      18. Le Prochain Amour
      19. La Chanson Des Vieux Amants
      20. Ne Me Quitte Pas

      Disc: 2
      1. Amsterdam
      2. La Biere
      3. Bruxelles
      4. Le Diable Ca Va
      5. Il Nous Faut Regarder
      6. L'Enfance
      7. Ces Gens La
      8. Les Bonbons
      9. Les Flamandes
      10. Les Bourgeois
      11. Jef
      12. Mathilde
      13. Marieke
      14. Madeleine
      15. Les Bigotes
      16. Vesoul
      17. Le Moribund
      18. Au Suivant
      19. Le Dernier Repas
      20. Je Suis Un Soir D'Ete

      Price: £14.99 with free delivery from www.hmv.co.uk


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 La Quete
      2 La Cathedrale
      3 L'amour Est Mort
      4 Mai 40
      5 Avec Elegance
      6 Sans Exigences
      7 Les Marquises
      8 Orly
      9 La Vil S'Endormait
      10 Jojo
      11 J'arrive
      12 Quand On N'a Que L'Amour
      13 Le Plat Pays
      14 Mon Enfance
      15 Les Vieux
      16 La Chanson De Jacky
      17 La Valse A Mille Temps
      18 Le Prochain Amour
      19 La Chanson Des Vieux Amants
      20 Ne Me Quitte Pas

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Amsterdam
      2 La Biere
      3 Bruxelles
      4 Le Diable Ca Va
      5 Il Nous Faut Regarder
      6 L'Enfance
      7 Ces Gens La
      8 Les Bonbons
      9 Les Flamandes
      10 Les Bourgeois
      11 Jef
      12 Mathilde
      13 Marieke
      14 Madeleine
      15 Les Bigotes
      16 Vesoul
      17 Le Moribund
      18 Au Suivant
      19 Le Dernier Repas
      20 Je Suis Un Soir D'Ete

    Products you might be interested in