Welcome! Log in or Register

Jeremih - Jeremih

  • image
£2.99 Best Offer by: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/oxfam-unwrapped See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul / Artist: Jeremih / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2009-06-30 at Def Jam

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.09.2009 17:50
      Very helpful



      Jeremih's debut album

      The Chicagoan R&B singer Jeremih released his self0entitled debut in 2009 and found tha he followed up the success of his breakthrough single "Birthday Sex" with an album filled of tunes to back this up and support this and show what else he has to offer with his work.

      1. "That Body"

      He kicks the thing off with something big as you see that Mike Shultz, who is behind each and every track on the album, brings some on-trend, futuristic production that has him coming in strong with his work as he rips it in the manner that people have come to expect since around 2007, yet it still hasn't seemed to tire to any degree and so it gets the thing off to a great start here to set up the record.

      **Four Stars**

      2. "Birthday Sex"

      As he works into the lead single from the album you find that you get a banger of a joint as he takes on the sorts of things that the likes of The-Dream, J. Holiday and Ryan Leslie have been most prominently using over this ort of time period and fuses it with the sensual R&B of the mid-nineties for a killer slow jam that has him working to a standard that seems to fit in with the quality of the song.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Break Up To Make Up"

      On some of Shultz' jumpy beats, you see that this one uses his odd choices in production which seem to take a little from the 1999-2002 period were things were very experimental when it came to electronic sound effects, however here I felt that although this worked, when it broke into the typical style of this time, it just wasn't happening and it made it sound too generic and left the thing as a plain love song (but with an up-tempo backing).

      **Two Stars**

      4. "Runway"

      On some housey beats, which seem to match the expectations of a fashion runway, you see that Jeremih is clearly making the effort to try out even more of the Pop-based material here. For me it wasn't that strong at all and having such annoying, relentless pounding backing him up in typical Euro-House style, it prevented it from really doing anything as he sings a song about a model (clearly having no relevance to current R&B).

      **One Star**

      5. "Raindrops"

      You find that you get more of the exciting, experimental production coming through as the sound effects make for the main driving force behind the music and in this case it is used in a perfect way as you see tha by constructing it around water he is able to create a sensual atmosphere from the get-go and it means that he can recover form the last couple amazingly well and just kill it with the great beats backing him.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "Starting All Over"

      It appears that the recovery period wasn't lasting to long as he suddenly drops it all here and opts for a rather unexpected one by pulling out a ballad (something that has been lost in most contemporary R&B albums of the past few years) however I felt that he didn't really do enough here with this one to really set things up for another break-out of ballads through the R&B world. It is sung well, but is nothing more than average.

      **Three Stars**

      7. "Imma Star"

      This was one of the singles from the album and so it seems to stand out on the thing quite a bit, although it isn't really as special as the first one dropped, yet I felt that it would be unfair to just disregard it for its Pop elements when you can see that he is able to effectively sing the Pop song in a manner so it seems to have much more depth and it seems to suit the odd direction of the production (that doesn't have any clear style in mind).

      **Four Stars**

      8. "Jumpin'"

      This one has him jumping on some heavy auto-tuning (in order to fit in with the times even more - although I felt that it seemed a little desperate). You see that here the beats fit right in with the direction of club-suited East Coast Rap tracks and bassy, energetic R&B tracks and I felt that it was good at capturing this scene, but the use of auto-tuning wasn't needed and showed how far he would go (by wasting his talent) to fit in with the fad of the day.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Hatin' On Me"

      Here you see that he is able to carry through the same sorts of things from the last one where he brings in the Hip Hop influence to the point where it is impossible to ignore, in this case I felt that he did amazingly well with it all as he brings in a Hip Hop theme (off brushing off haters) and does so whilst getting chopped (in Houston styled) whilst on more of the grungy beats) for a killer song that holds it all together.

      **Five Stars**

      10. "My Sunshine"

      You see that he escapes the kinds of things that took over his music with the last couple of tracks in order to do a much softer one as a massive contrast and force you to take notice as he does so. This one has him resorting back towards the Pop material and not really doing too well with this side of things as it is all very soppy stuff and pretty generic and so you are very likely to ire of it early on through its lengthy duration.

      **Two Stars**

      11. "My Ride"

      He manages to suddenly save things again by coming out with a tune that uses the kinds of production that comes directly out of the Dirty South Hip Hop styles (specifically the Atlanta scene). It is a banger of a song and shows how well he is able to construct this kind of thing as he brings in more of the Hip Hop influences effectively as he signs about how the girls just can't rest riding with him in his car.

      **Five Stars**

      12. "Buh Bye"

      The album ends with another of the big tunes and it is one that has him coming through strong as he throws down an energetic tune that has some funky percussion going on in it to drive it through. You also get some beatboxing to support it as he sings extremely well with his light vocals that have him deliver lines about how he can't come to breaking up with his girl when he sets eyes on her and sees what he'd be missing out on.

      **Five Stars**

      This is a very inconsistent album from Jeremih and one that gets him working well to ensure that he is able to come up with a release that matches the quality that came from his lead single. His vocal delivery is strong at all times, but in some cases the Pop elements were just too easy to complain about and took things down significantly


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 That Body
    2 Birthday Sex
    3 Break Up to Make Up
    4 Runway
    5 Raindrops
    6 Starting All Over
    7 Imma Star (Everywhere We Are)
    8 Jumpin
    9 Hatin' on Me
    10 My Sunshine
    11 My Ride
    12 Buh Bye
    13 Birthday Sex [Up-Tempo][*]

Products you might be interested in