Welcome! Log in or Register

Juvenile Hell - Mobb Deep

  • image
£15.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - East Coast / Artist: Mobb Deep / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2000-09-12 at Import Music Services

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      13.06.2010 18:45
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Mobb Deep's debut album

      The duo of Prodigy and havoc made their debut as Mobb Deep in 1993 when they released "Juvenile Hell". Assisted by the likes of Large Professor and DJ Premier or some of the beats, much of it is done alone as they came as an example of a pair of Queens, New York teenagers capable of both rapping, creating beats for themselves and setting strong foundations for what would be a lengthy stretch in the Hip Hop world.

      1. "Intro"

      2. "Me and My Crew"

      The album really gets going as the crew dive into this track and really get all hyped-up as they do it. They offer some raw, hardcore Hip Hop which was on the rise around about this time and I felt that it was great to see such a strong example of that sort of material as the opener to the album as they show that they haven't got any time to mess around and instead have to just blast out with that gritty stuff from the offset.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Locked In Spofford"

      With this one they come to show why exactly they feel as though they don't fit in outside in the main population and must be contained in juvenile correctional facilities such as the one named in the title. This one has the two of them tracking what exactly they get up there as they seem to be attempting to compete with the reputation of Rikers Island. It makes for some great-quality Hip Hop and keeps the album flowing.

      **Five Stars**

      4. "Peer Pressure"

      This was the act's debut single and so really the first tune which the duo was known for. They come in hard here as they try to give listeners a true representation of what exactly they're about and how the material of no others is able to quite do this. It has a lot to offer and although the Large Professor remix may be a better version of this, what you get here isn't something you're likely to dislike if you're into this kind of underground Hip Hop.

      **Five Stars**

      5. "Skit #1"

      6. "Hold Down The Fort"

      Running right off a skit, this one has them coming with the type of material that you'd expect of hardcore Rap around this sort of time. Here they go right in with highly-violent Gangsta Rap as they give an understanding of what exactly they're willing to do in order to hold down their ends of town. They do well here and ensure that they're able to compete with all the big names in this type of Hip Hop around this time in both coasts.

      **Five Stars**

      7. "B***h-A*s N***a"

      This tune really bumps hard and features all the sort of thumping, headbop-inducing beats that you'll never be able to get out of if you try. I thought that this very inviting and engaging material was effect at really taking you away in order to give an experience of being a part of their lifestyle as they target those who seem weak and don't fit in with what they're capable of. The rhyming reflects that of the Nice & Smooth at times and has them offering a harder twist on their approach.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Hit It From The Back"

      This one was another of the singles off the thing. I felt that they did well with this tune as they manage to hold things together and makes things sound consistent with the same Boom-Bap sound which has ripped through the first half of the album, right into a track which has them going out with a tune which has them speaking about getting things on with girls. I thought that they did well to maintain how things have gone up to this time in spite of the massive change in subject matter.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Skit #2"

      10. "Stomp 'Em Out"

      Bringing the ruckus once more, this one has them going out with more short and sharp raps that I felt you'd have trouble disliking. In addition to duo, Big Noyd joins them both here too as they get up on self-produced raw beats and then a funky bass line to make this one stand out amongst the others as something with a little more depth to it. It's just the type of thing you're likely to be into if the debuts of M.O.P., Wu-Tang Clan and Black Moon were to your taste.

      **Five Stars**

      11. "Skit #3"

      12. "Peer Pressure" (Remix)

      This is the improved remix of their lead single. The composition seems to be much more compacted here as Large Professor completely redoes the beats and tightens things up with a much harder sound. I felt that it was something that needed to be included, even though it was just the same track with a completely different backing.

      **Five Stars**

      13. "Project Hallways"

      This is another example of the quality of the act and what exactly they're able to offer over others as they bring more of the type of Hip Hop that facts of early underground East Coast material are forced to enjoy because it simply doesn't have any weaknesses to it. They do well to draw in more grooves to lighten the production and still ensure that it feels hard and intimidating as ever before.

      **Five Stars**

      14. "Flavor for the Non-Believes"

      James Brown sampling, this ending track is a fly one and gets them going out all excited with it. They show that right up to the end they're able to keep things as heavy as ever and although this isn't likely to appeal to those who won't have enjoyed the early ones, the samey feel (which I liked about it) means that you'll be right into this one if the opener was to your taste too. The rhymes are strong and all you could ask for from teens such as these.

      **Five Stars**

      I was well into this album and though that it really added to what else was going on around these ends at the time. The record is consistent with not a single tune sounding to be out-of-place in any way or form whatsoever. It's exciting from beginning to end and compliments any collection of contemporary work from all the big names of the underground East Coast circuit of that time (the early nineties).


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Intro
      2 Me And My Crew
      3 Locked In Spofford
      4 Peer Pressure
      5 Skit #1
      6 Hold Down The Fort
      7 Bitch Ass Nigga
      8 Hit It From The Back
      9 Skit #2
      10 Stomp Em Out
      11 Skit #3
      12 Peer Pressure
      13 Project Hallways
      14 Flavor For The Non Believes

    Products you might be interested in