Welcome! Log in or Register

Kemistry - Kem

  • image
£4.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Kem / Import / Audio CD released 2003-02-25 at Universal

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.04.2007 17:39
      Very helpful



      Great album.

      Most of you will probably not have heard of this singer but I have decided to enlighten you all with a review of his debut album Kemistry, which was released in 2003 and was well received by music critics. To be honest I didnt know much at all about this artist until quite recently when I heard about him on a website and decided to check some of his music out. I did that and really like what I heard from him.

      There really isnt much that you can find out about Kem, he has a website but there really isnt much of a biograhy anywhere I have seen. If you are a fan please feel free to send me a message if you have information on where there's a good biography of Kem.

      Tracks Listing

      1. Matter of Time -
      2. Miss You -
      3. Say -
      4. Inside -
      5. I'm Missin' Your Love
      6. Love Calls -
      7. Brotha Man -
      8. Cherish This Moment -»
      9. This Place (Church of Today)
      10. You Are


      I bought this album a few months ago from amazon for around £4-£5 which isnt bad at all. The album starts off with a nice song called Matter of time which is a soft jazzy track with soulful singing and a nice feel to start off the album with. Next up we have Miss You which is a wonderous track, imagine Marvin Gaye doing Jazz and this is probably what you would think of. Say is the third track on the album and has a very emotive feel to it. I love this track because of the emotion in it. There is a superbly emotive guitar solo towards the end that tops off this track.

      Inside is the fourth track on the album and is another nice track but has more of a soul feel than the jazz tinged majority of the album. I'm missin your love is a superb track which has and old school Jazz feel with saxaphone in the background and a great bass guitar sequence that pins down the track. Love calls is one of the more R&B tinged tracks on this album but still keeping that Jazz base. tender guitar licks are joined but a firm drum beat and Kem's emotive falsetto.

      Brotha Man is a jazz/r&b mix with Kem showing off his scat singing that is common in Jazz. This has a nice flow and has a catchy feel but it's not as good as the best on the album. Track 8 is Cherish The Moment which continues the soft feel of the album and is another funky slow paced Jazz/r&b fusion that works well. This place (church of today) is a track that feels like Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield duetted. A very nice track with Mayfield guitar licks and Gaye backing music. And to finish off this album is a Brian McKnight sounding track which is a great end to the album. Kem's voice sounds natural and emotive.

      I gave my mother a copy of this after I played the album over the phone and she liked what she heard. It is an album that is great for late night listening with a romantic night with your partner or just when you are on your own, turn the lights down low and put this on and you will be totally relaxed soon enough.

      Kem's voice is a rich voice with bags of emotion, he has an amazing ability to convey pain and joy equally. While there are some moments that some people would not like, he is still a very fine singer who has a great future in the music industry and this is a very fine first album. I wll review his second album which was released in 2005 when I have had it put up on the site.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Kemistry
      2 Kem
      3 Kemistry
      4 Matter Of Time
      5 Miss You
      6 Say
      7 Inside
      8 I'm Missin' Your Love
      9 Love Calls
      10 Brotha Man
      11 Cherish This Moment
      12 This Place
      13 You Are

    Products you might be interested in