Welcome! Log in or Register

Kisstory - Urban Classics: Rewind To The Early 90's

  • image
£14.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2003-09-01 at Umtv

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      28.02.2009 19:48
      Very helpful




      I love my urban music and when it gets to night, I like to slip into something sleek and sensual and put on some r an b to grind to. This album provides a perfect soundtrack to work your body to, covering the early part of the nineties, it is crammed with hits.

      Style of music:

      It is urban music, new jack swing with a pop twist. There are a few house orientated numbers.


      The rewarding Soul 2 Soul is given an instant boost by the strong dynamic vocals from Caron Wheeler. She has such a velvety voice and takes comand of the song. The rhythm of this one never fails to get me excited and such good production from Jazzie B too.

      'Got To Have Your Love' by Mantronix rains over the Liberty X version like a thunderstorm. Classy, dancey and such a hot groove.

      I loved the diva strop from Adeva on 'Respect'. She has a voice akin to Grace Jones, powerful and assertive and she brings an air of menace to the song. Talking of menace, the charged vocals from Jocelyn Brown on Incognito's 'Always There.' Her vocals are looming like a threat on the horizon. The woman sounds like she could swallow you whole. The track is one you could dance to and has some superb piano work in it.

      There are two discs here, so on the second disc, dip into Boyz 2 Men delivering the smooth and refined 'Motownphilly' which has a swing kind of beat and assured sexy vocals. To really get things steamy, head for Color Me Badd's 'I Wanna Sex You Up' where you can literally feel the sweat dripping off the walls.


      Busta Rhymes' 'Turn It Up' seems out of place, the rapping is too harsh and the song jars with the rest of the smooth content on the album.


      Despite awful artwork, 38 tracks should see you through. Some great memories on this album.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      26.09.2003 19:31
      Not Helpful



      Following last year's number one compilation album 'Kisstory Dance Classics', UMTV has recently released 'Kisstory Urban Classics' - a retrospective look at Kiss through the early nineties. This double CD package features some of the music pioneers who helped to make the urban scene - particularly the london urban music sound - as big as it is today. Including Soul II Soul, Masters At Work, Young Disciples and Jamiroquai alongside Public Enemy, LL Cool J, Young MC and Mantronix. An essential album crammed with Urban Classics, just like it says on the box. Tracklisting: CD : 1 1. Soul II Soul - Back To Life 2. Mantronix - Got To Have Your Love 3. Heavy D & The Boyz feat. Aaron Hall - Now That We've Found Love 4. Young Disciples - Apparently Nothin' 5. The Brand New Heavies - Dream On Dreamer 6. Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam - Let The Beat Hit 'Em 7. Masters At Work - I Can't Get No Sleep 8. Adeva - Respect 9. Family Stand - Ghetto Heaven 10. Incognito - Always There 11. Omar - There's Nothing Like This 12. Mica Paris - I Should've Known Better 13. Young MC - Bust A Move 14. Eric B & Rakim - Paid In Full 15. Public Enemy - Don't Believe The Hype 16. C+C Music Factory - Gonna Make You Sweat 17. Freakpower - Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out 18. Jamiroquai - Space Cowboy CD : 2 1. SWV - Right Here 2. Luniz - I Got 5 On It 3. LL Cool J - Around The Way Girl 4. Arrested Development - Mr Wendal 5. Jade - Don't Walk Away 6. Aaliyah - Age Ain't Nothing But A Number 7. Salt N Pepa - Let's Talk About Sex 8. Boyz II Men - Motownphilly 9. Bell Biv DeVoe - Poison 10. En Vogue - My Lovin' 11. Color Me Badd - I Wanna Sex You Up 12. TLC - Waterfalls 13. DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince - Summertime 14. Shabba Ranks feat. Chevelle Franklin -
      Mr Loverman 15. A Tribe Called Quest - Bonita Applebum 16. Busta Rhymes - Turn It Up 17. Double Trouble & The Rebel MC - Street Tuff 18. Dream Warriors - My Definition Of A Boombastic 19. Shanice - I Love Your Smile 20. Wreckx-N-Effect - Rump Shaker I hadn't heard some of these for a few years - they are definitely worth a re-visit. They were massive hits with a fresh sound a few years ago, and they haven't lost the edge in the 8 or years so since. A must-have if you like R'n'B, soul or just plain good music!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Back To Life - Soul II Soul
      2 Got To Have Your Love - Mantronix
      3 Now That We've Found Love - Heavy D & The Boyz feat. Aaron Hall
      4 Apparently Nothin' - Young Disciples
      5 Dream On Dreamer - The Brand New Heavies
      6 Let The Beat Hit 'Em - Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam
      7 I Can't Get No Sleep - Masters At Work
      8 Respect - Adeva
      9 Ghetto Heaven - Family Stand
      10 Always There - Incognito
      11 There's Nothing Like This - Omar
      12 I Should've Known Better - Mica Paris
      13 Bust A Move - Young MC
      14 Paid In Full - Eric B & Rakim
      15 Don't Believe The Hype - Public Enemy
      16 Gonna Make You Sweat - C+C Music Factory
      17 Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out - Freakpower
      18 Space Cowboy - Jamiroquai

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Right Here - SWV
      2 I Got 5 On It - Luniz
      3 Around The Way Girl - LL Cool J
      4 Mr Wendal - Arrested Development
      5 Don't Walk Away - Jade
      6 Age Ain't Nothing But A Number - Aaliyah
      7 Let's Talk About Sex - Salt N Pepa
      8 Motownphilly - Boyz II Men
      9 Poison - Bell Biv DeVoe
      10 My Lovin' - En Vogue
      11 I Wanna Sex You Up - Color Me Badd
      12 Waterfalls - TLC
      13 Summertime - DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince
      14 Mr Loverman - Shabba Ranks feat. Chevelle Franklin
      15 Bonita Applebum - A Tribe Called Quest
      16 Turn It Up - Busta Rhymes
      17 Street Tuff - Double Trouble & The Rebel MC
      18 My Definitioin Of A Boombastic - Dream Warriors
      19 I Love Your Smile - Shanice
      20 Rump Shaker - Wreckx-N-Effect

    Products you might be interested in