Welcome! Log in or Register

Let Yourself Go - Elvis Presley

  • image
£19.74 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: Elvis Presley / Audio CD released 2006-10-16 at Follow That Dream

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.12.2009 18:00



      A must for all Elvis fans.

      As any Elvis fan would know, Elvis had a spell out of the limelight and this ended with the 1968 TV comeback special, the music on this special was so good that the critics that Elvis had gained from his time away from music making rubbish films, quickly got off his back.

      The album Let yourself go features many of the tracks from this comeback special as well as clips from the rehearsals and alternate takes of many of the kings best tracks such as "Guitar man", "big boss man" and one of my all time Elvis favourites "If I can dream".

      This album differs slightly from most Elvis albums in that I often say that even non fans would enjoy many of his albums but this one is so eclectic that it is probably an album for true Elvis fans but I would hope others would still get something from it.

      It is a fairly expensive album, at £18.49 it is about twice the price of many other albums on the shelves but in my opinion it is worth every penny and I am sure other fans of the King and his music would certainly agree.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      04.12.2008 19:43
      Very helpful



      Come on folks, let yourself go!

      In 1968 Elvis Presley filmed a television special which would prove to be his 'comeback' after a series of increasingly mediocre movies. The musical material featured on this TV special was of such a high quality that critics and fans felt that Elvis had redeemed himself.

      There have been lots of different CDs released over the years featuring music recorded for this TV special, both in performance and rehearsal. This particular release, entitled LET YOURSELF GO - THE MAKING OF 'ELVIS': THE COMEBACK SPECIAL, comes from the specialist Elvis record label FTD and features previously unreleased outtakes and rehearsals tracks.

      There is some fantastic music on this CD including alternate takes of such great songs as GUITAR MAN, which ran as a theme throughout the TV show, BIG BOSS MAN, and the very meaningful IF I CAN DREAM.

      This is an important release for Elvis fans and scholars alike as it documents part of a very important moment in Elvis' musical rehabilitation. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Trouble/Guitar Man [Opening Takes 6, 7]
    2 Nothingville [Takes 5, 6]
    3 Let Yourself Go [Pt 1-Takes 5, 6 + Part 2-Take 2 + Part 3-Take 6]
    4 Guitar Man [Escape Section 1[Fast Takes 1, 2, 5]
    5 Guitar Man [Afer Karate Section 2-Take 1]
    6 Little Egypt [Take 8]
    7 Trouble/Guitar Man [Atfer Karate Section 3-Take 2]
    8 Big Boss Man [Take 2]
    9 It Hurts Me [Pt 1-Take 5 + Part 2-Take 3]
    10 Guitar Man [Escape Section 1 (Remake)-Take 6]
    11 Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child/Where Could I Go But to the Lo
    12 Up Above My Head/I Found That Light [Gospel Section 2-Take 7]
    13 Saved [Gospel Section 3-Take 4]
    14 If I Can Dream [Takes 3, 4]
    15 Memories [Alternate Vocal Track]
    16 I Got a Woman
    17 Blue Moon/Young Love/Oh, Happy Day
    18 When It Rains, It Really Poirs
    19 Blue Christmas
    20 Are You Lonesome Tongiht?/That's My Desire
    21 That's When Your Heartaches Begin
    22 Peter Gunn Theme
    23 Love Me
    24 When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
    25 Blue Christmas/Santa Claus Is Back in Town

Products you might be interested in