Welcome! Log in or Register

Libertad - Velvet Revolver

  • image
£4.20 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Hard Rock / Artist: Velvet Revolver / Audio CD released 2007-07-02 at Columbia

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.11.2008 04:17
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Read review


      This is the second and possibly final album from Metal supergroup Velvet Revolver. For those of you not aware, Velvet Revolver consists of Ex Guns and Roses Slash, Duff and Matt Sorum plus Dave Kushner on Guitar and Lead vocals from Stone Temple Pilots frontman Scott Weiland. The reason I say possible final album is because Lead singer Scott Weiland left the group after being pushed out by the other members of the band.


      This album was released in 2007, The band produced the album with Brendan O'Brian who has produced with a wide range of artists including the likes of Bob Dylan, Pearl Jam, Aimee Mann, Audioslave and also Scott Weiland's Stone Temple Pilots. Libertad features 14 tracks in total with the last one being a hidden track called Don't Drop That Dime.

      **The Album**

      1 Let It Roll

      A high energy track starts the album off with a great confidence. As the guitars open the track they are so joined by the crash of Matt Sorum's drums, What follows is a very catchy track which has Scott Weiland performing different sounding vocal effects through a loudspeaker. There's great guitar work by both Slash and Dave Kushner.

      2 She Mine

      Matt Sorum's drumming is a key feature at the start of this track and then the other instruments take shape with Scott Weiland's distinctive vocals. Highly charged guitars move throught the song with the fantastically catchy overall feel of the music. Top tune.

      3 Get Out The Door

      Another catchy track which shows how well each musician blends with another. Slash's & Dave Kushner's guitars weave through the track so well that you can hear every little intricate direction of the guitar tone. Great stuff.

      4.She builds quick machines

      A fast pace full on rock track with superb attitude and bite. Stupendously catchy basslines from Duff McKagan's bass guitar and Slash and Kushner are on top form again with their blend of catchy guitar melodies.

      5. The Last Fight

      This is one of their best songs, A great live track which gets the crowd going. With military style drumming and a high pitched intricate guitar intro this is different to the other tracks on the album as it is quite a bit slower and softer. Still got the great guitar work and catchy feel in spades though.

      6. Pills, Demons & etc

      Yes i know it's a strange title but don't let that put you off as this is a catchy track with some great work from Duff on the bass and some superb licks from Slash and Dave Kushner with the authorative display on vocals from Scott Weiland.

      7. American Man

      Duff McKagan's bass is quite prominent here as are the guitar licks from Slash and Dave Kushner. Not the best on the album but very catchy indeed and with a great guitar solo from Slash. Certainly worth keeping the track on.

      8. Mary, Mary

      Probably the weakest track on the album but still has a lot to offer with the guitar work from Slash and Dave Kushner with a very decent solo from Kushner,

      9. Just Sixteen

      Another superbly catchy track which features backing vocals from Duff as he was known for in Guns and Roses. There is some excellent guitar work from Slash and Dave Kushner.

      10. Can't get it out of my head

      This is the slowest track on the album and one of the best. A wonderful ballad which shows how versatile the band can be. Some lovely relaxed guitar work from Slash in particular with Dave Kushner supplying decent support. What a solo from Slash!!!!!!. A fantastic cover of ELO.

      11. For a brother

      This is one of the more Stone Temple Pilots like tracks, There's some excellent bass parts from Duff McKagan and some interesting licks from both Slash and Dave Kushner. A very decent track indeed.

      12. Spay

      This track opens with some great bass work from Duff and then the guitars of Slash and Dave Kushner soar. Scott Weiland's voice sounds the most different on this track to any of the others and adds a decent touch. A high tempo cracker of a track.

      13. Gravedancer

      Another slow track, this time with some superb slide guitar licks. This track develops into an outstanding track with some amazing guitar work from Slash. This track leads into the hidden track Don't Drop That Dime" (3:59) starting at 04:43.

      Don't drop that dime

      This is a country tinged track which is a great addition as a bonus track to this album, This track has the feel of an impromptue demo. A very decent track.


      So there we have Velvet Revolver's second album Libertad, If it does prove to be the last album they record as Velvet Revolver then atleast fans will have to cracking albums to remember the band by. A superb album with a great variety of tracks.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Let It Roll
      2 She Mine
      3 Get Out The Door
      4 She Builds
      5 Quick Machines
      6 The Last Fight
      7 American Man
      8 Mary Mary
      9 Just Sixteen
      10 Can't Get You Out Of My Head
      11 For A Brother
      12 Spay
      13 Gravedance

    Products you might be interested in