Welcome! Log in or Register

Like Gods Of The Sun - My Dying Bride

  • image
£10.00 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: My Dying Bride / Limited Edition / Audio CD released 1996-10-01 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.05.2010 20:42
      Very helpful



      Melancholy, Darkness and Desperation in 9 epic-doom anthems.

      My Dying Bride is one of the best groups of the atmospheric sound, having affected many other bands starting a new genre together with Paradise Lost and Anathema.
      Like Gods of the sun is their fourth album released in 1996. Featuring mourning guitar riffs from hell, bass blast-beats and haunting Violins. Only clean vocals can be heard on this album, as opposed to their previous work where both clean and brutal vocals could be heard.

      This album consists of 9 parts:
      Chapter one: "Like Gods of the Sun". Dark clouds are gathering and flashes of lightning hit the sky revealing pieces of hell. The first 2 minutes of the song are slow and then it gradually becomes more and more aggressive accompanied by the keyboards.
      Chapter two: Beautiful violin interludes in "The dark caress". In some moments of the song, the singer utters words rather than singing. Paces are changing between slow and fast.
      Chapter three: "Grace unhearing" continues to the same path as "The dark caress". The subject-matter is the search for salvation from ones guilt
      Chapter four: "A kiss to remember". With a bass intro, melodic guitars and ethereal violin the tunes are combined into one of the highlights of the album.
      Chapter five: "All swept away" is built in anger and you can feel this through both the music and lyrics.
      Chapter six: If My dying Bride is your favorite band, then "For You" is the song you want to dedicate to your girl!
      Chapter 7: "It will come" has a pure heavy metal riff and the apocalypse is near...
      Chapter 8: "Here in the throat" sounds pretty much one of the same as the other songs of the album but after a few moments into the song the atmosphere changes and your interest is on again.
      Chapter 9: "For my fallen Angel" has an intro which brings to mind Secret Garden's sound and the Last Samurai soundtrack. The last chapter of one of the best albums of My Dying Bride features the most poetic and sad lyrics of the album.

      One of the few bands that can artfully express the true feeling of sorrow.

      If i had to choose only one album from My Dying Bride, it would be "Like Gods Of The Sun".


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Like Gods Of The Sun
      2 Dark Caress
      3 Grace Unhearing
      4 Kiss To Remember
      5 All Swept Away
      6 For You
      7 It Will Come
      8 Here In The Throat
      9 For My Fallen Angel

    Products you might be interested in