Welcome! Log in or Register

Live At Winterland '76 - Electric Light Orchestra

  • image
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Electric Light Orchestra / Live / Audio CD released 2001-05-29 at Eagle

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.07.2009 00:21
      Very helpful



      A great album for reliving the creation of one of britains finest groups

      As an ELO fanatic, I bought all their albums, singles - which continued whenever I visited a car boot or specialist record outlet - which even meant importing one of their compilation albums simply called "Collection" from the USA. My reason for mentioning is that this was not one of the one's released during the time they were famous.

      I found, like many others I expect, that when a group is losing popularity or have stopped recording for a while that the record companies suddenly produce unknown works, or compilations to boost sales.

      ELO's Live at Winterland '76 was produced in 1998, 9 years after ELO Part 2 were formed - which all leads to the conspiracy theory that ELO were a product that they thought could be exploited - well do I know from the LPs that started appearing of their early works towards the end of the 1980's.

      Unless you are an ardent fan, this cd will not be on your shopping list - it's very much based on their "classical" rock style rather than the music many associated with tracks from their later albums. Personally as a fanatic any extra tracks or variations on their works are things I like collecting, but for someone just building a cd collection I wouldn't buy it. Tracks on the album were written from their formation in 1973 upto Do Ya from the 1976 album A New World Record, and includes the Chuck Berry hit Roll Over Beethoven, which to many was much better performed by ELO. From memory this is not the long version! ((They have made many different ones from about 5 minutes to well over 10, with the intro from Beethoven's 5th).

      There is a lot of classical styling in these tracks and to many it is probably too hard going. I've rated it 4*, 5* for ELO fans, 2 or 3* for those that aren't - I'm probably being a little generous with the rating, as I'm biased! This is a live album, all tracks can be found on their other albums of the time - Eldorado, Face The Music, A New World Record, On The Third Day and tracks 10538 Overture, Showdown and Roll Over Beethoven can be found on any number of their earlier albums - Showdown, ELO 1, ELO 2 - the list seems endless.

      1 Fire on High (music)
      2 Poker
      3 Nightrider
      4 Showdown
      5 Eldorado Suite (including Can't Get It Out Of My Head)
      6 Strange Magic
      7 Medley: 10538 Overture, Do Ya
      8 Evil Woman
      9 Ma, Ma, Ma Belle
      10 Roll Over Beethoven


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Fire on High
    2 Poker
    3 Nightrider
    4 Showdown
    5 Eldorado Suite (Including Can't Get It Out of My Head)
    6 Strange Magic
    7 Medley: 10538 Overture/Do Ya
    8 Evil Woman
    9 Ma-Ma-Ma Belle
    10 Roll over Beethoven

Products you might be interested in