Welcome! Log in or Register

Locked Down - Dr. John

  • image
£1.71 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Blues / Artist: Dr. John / CD / Audio CD released 2012-04-02 at Nonesuch

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      20.06.2012 13:35



      Mac Rebennack growls some mean funk

      I first encountered Dr John a few years ago when he meandered onto the stage during the filming of the classic movie The Last Waltz, if you like the Band you will agree, he sat down at the piano and played a fun time honky tonk song with the band. Catchy, cheesy, old school and fun. Perfect. Then I forgot all about him.

      Now he is "back", emphasizing old hip and ice cool again. This time though the big turn is the addition of newcomer Dan Auerbach of Black Keys fame, and quite frankly this is sounds like a master stroke. A slow burning album I must admit first, these slowed funk grooves take repeated listen to ingrain themselves into your very thinking. After a week it was my go to album for any mood!

      Dr John or Mac Rebennack is in fine fettle, the sounds have not morphed into dated excursions off nostalgia. Each song blends in together perfectly, old but with a great fresh feel that is owed to some fabulous record quality. Dan Auerbach's Black Keys trademark guitar can be found often, rubbing shoulders with much looser drum patterns and big ol' horn honking. It's the sort of album he will probably be writing in 50 years time. But let's not forget Dr. John is the boss here, hissing and praising with that ragged Louisiana accent has made the album of the year!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Locked Down
    2 Revolution
    3 Big Shot
    4 Ice Age
    5 Getaway
    6 Kingdom Of Izzness
    7 You Lie
    8 Eleggua
    9 My Children, My Angels
    10 God'S Sure Good

Products you might be interested in