Welcome! Log in or Register

Long Live The Kane - Big Daddy Kane

  • image
£19.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - Gangsta & Hardcore / Artist: Big Daddy Kane / Import / Audio CD released at Warners

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.03.2010 19:27
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Big Daddy Kane's debut album

      "Long Live The Kane" dropped in 1988, one of the most influential years in Hip Hop history. It sees the Cold Chillin' artist, who at the time had written for Roxanne Shanté and Biz Markie (both label mates). The record is considered to be a classic, and alongside his second album, stands as half of the key period for his music (before going massively downhill).

      1. "Long Live The Kane"

      The album gets underway with the perfect track for the job as he sets it off with a track that has him introducing himself and showing what he has to offer as a brand new name on the scene and someone who would stand as one of the most prolific of this Golden Era period. The tune is a pretty fresh one and all that you can really expect of an opener to get the record underway, livened-up and prepared for other potential turns later.

      **Five Stars**

      2. "Raw" (Remix)

      A remix to his first single (on the 'Colors' soundtrack, this is amongst his most well-known, and has him burst through with his signature fast-rap style, where he simply rips apart the Breakbeat production which was provided for him by Marley Marl. The title to the thing is a perfect description to it, as it is exactly what you receive from his rhymes here.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Set It Off"

      This is his favourite cut the artist ever recorded, and I don't believe that you can get much better than this recording as you get him riding an amazing beat from DJ Mark the 45 King (responsible for the 900 Number), and it leads to him comign at you with some of the most hardcore lines you've ever heard on a rap album (at the time).

      **Five Stars**

      4. "The Day You're Mine"

      For this one we see that Kane really alters his ways massively as he turns towards some Love Rap. I have to say that I really don't feel this kind of thing and its one of the things that prevents the whole record from sounding timless as tunes like this can't be turned to sound like anything in modern times. I can see the appeal at the time as it shows some variety, but this love ballad rap isn't working for me.

      **Two Stars**

      5. "On A Bugged Tip"

      I thought that this was a great inclusion to the album as we see that here we get a massive change to things where Big Daddy Kane teams up with Scoob Lover and together they jump over the 'Wild Style' theme beats to show that here they are down to take it back to the Old School days and so here come out with Cold Crush Brothers-styled rhymes that you really can't help but fall for if you were into the 1979-1983 years in Hip Hop.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "Ain't No Half-Steppin'"

      The Kane apparently calms things down with this one, and he gives the impression that the energy levels are about to drop as he does so and Marley Marl provides much softer beats. However, the approach of the rapper is hard, and it comes across in a very different light with such a high-energy way to go at the mic(rophone) and dismiss the hate which he receives.

      **Four Stars**

      7. "I'll Take You There"

      I really liked the fact that he changed things up quite significantly with the concept of the track, however he kept things together by maintaining his popular style of approaching the track, and laying down his rhymes to it. He speaks to his girl on how he wishes to take her to a place where crime is simply unheard of and nobody lives in fear.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "Just Rhymin' With Biz"
      I was excited by the line-up of this one with the biggest members of the Juice Crew coming together to produce a banger of a cut. You have Marley Marl on the beats once again, and alongside Kane, you have Biz Markie, and the humorous MC, has a lot to offer, whilst they jam on top of "The Payback", by James Brown.

      **Five Stars**

      9. "Mister Cee's Master Plan"

      Here we get a track that has Kane rapping out a dedication for his DJ. We see that Mister Cee gets much more prominence here as he gets on the scratches and cuts much more this time around and shows just what his skills produce. The tune on itself doesn't offer too much, but it does really suit the times and fit right in to what everyone was about during this time as Mister Cee chops things up on the turntables.

      **Five Stars**

      10. "Word To The Mother"

      On top of James Brown's "Funky Drummer", you have The Kane coming with equally fresh rhymes, which get him speaking in a shout-out to the mother land, Africa. It is an interesting one from him, and gets him keeping things just as good as they should be, despite the alternative subject of the track. It is a strong way to end this killer album off.

      **Five Stars**

      This is a straight killer album from Big Daddy Kane and the perfect way to set his career up with. There's only really one track that I felt held the thing back slightly, but this really can't be said to have too much of an effect upon the thing as the quality of the beats and rhymes are seen to be better than those of nearly all others of the time.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Long Live the Kane
      2 Raw [Remix]
      3 Set It Off
      4 Day You're Mine
      5 On the Bugged Tip
      6 Ain't No Half Steppin'
      7 I'll Take You There
      8 Just Rhymin' With Biz
      9 Mister Cee's Master Plan
      10 Word to the Mother (Land)

    Products you might be interested in