Welcome! Log in or Register

Lost In Space: Vol. 2 - Tobias Sammet's Avantasia

  • image
£2.00 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Tobias Sammet's Avantasia / Audio CD released 2007-11-19 at Nuclear Blast

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.02.2008 12:12
      Very helpful



      Second of two (2007).

      The second self-proclaimed "chapter" of 'Lost in Space' ends up similar to the first, increasing the power metal quotient as well as that of the lame power ballads, and avoiding raising excitement for the forthcoming album 'The Scarecrow.'

      Tobias Sammet continues to sing well, and to surround himself with talented singers from the European metal scene in the song 'Promised Land,' but unfortunately makes the mistake of choosing Masterplan's Jørn Lande (again) and Helloween's Michael Kiske, great vocalists in their own right but less effective when their similar voices are used in the same song to pretty much no effect whatsoever, apart from stopping to think "is that Tob... no, it's probably Masterplan bloke. Or Helloween guy, I can't remember what his voice sounds like." Like the power metal track from the last E.P., this is the best song here by a small margin simply for having some energy, with dominant lead guitars between the verses and a long solo at the end, as well as lyrics concerning the scarecrow character that I have to admit got me a little excited about the album, even though raising my hopes can only be a bad thing.

      'Scary Eyes' is an unprecedented second power metal offering (two out of six? Unbelievable), but is less entertaining and more on the dull and repetitive side, which I'm only criticising so harshly because I expect better things of Avantasia, their earlier 'Metal Opera' being two of the defining albums of my late teens, along with the rest of the Edguy stuff and about three hundred other bands.

      The two cover songs this time round are both on the ballad side, the Ultravox track being the most repetitive and tedious thing I've heard in a while, but okay for fans of soft electronic pop-rock. I was similarly unfamiliar with the original of Freddie Mercury's atrociously spelled 'In My Defense,' and although Sammet does a good performance, commendably avoiding trying to mimic the dead guy's singing style, this mini-album could really have used something more exciting at this late juncture. The focal song 'Lost in Space' is the same as on the previous album, a reasonably accomplished light rock ballad with a slight spacey edge, and although it could be seen as cheating fans out of a "proper" sixth track here, the so-called "epic version" of this song makes for quite a nice, soft epilogue, even if it's a bit high and mighty to proclaim it epic when all they've done is replace the rock instruments with an acoustic guitar.

      1. Lost in Space
      2. Promised Land
      3. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes (Ultravox cover)
      4. Scary Eyes
      5. In My Defense (Freddie Mercury cover)
      6. Lost in Space (epic version)


      Login or register to add comments

Products you might be interested in