Welcome! Log in or Register

Market Harbour - Ginger

  • image
£8.93 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Artist: Ginger / Audio CD released 2008-01-28 at Round

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      08.08.2008 23:43
      Very helpful



      Ginger keeps developing and no matter what style he takes on his song-writing shines through

      This is the most eclectic mix of styles yet on a Ginger release and completely different from his Wildhearts material genre-wise, although his unique song-writing style can be spotted a mile off. Opener is an acousticy uplifting pop tune, then the album goes through instrumentals, classic Ginger songs like 'Queen Of Leaving', the oddball oompah-pah of 'House Of Moths' and the even odder 'You and Me (That's What I want)' sung by children (!). Couple Trouble (with guest vocalist) sounds like a 50's/60's vocal group but has Ginger's sense of humour dripping off the lyrics. Closer 'Shatterproof' has one of Ginger's recurring subject matters of being stronger than anything you can throw at him "To hurt me, you've got to beat me, but to beat me, you've got to kill me............. how can you kill something that will not die?"
      This album IS different from Ginger's earlier work, but it's SO compelling and varied it makes it one of my favourites (Valor Del Corazon is my favourite of his solo albums). It's certainly better than Yoni, so if you were a bit disappointed by that, try again with this one :-)


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      08.02.2008 03:29



      Ginger proves his dynamic ability and songwriting skills once again

      The amazingly charismatic and outrageous frontman of The Wildhearts is back with a follow up to his critically acclaimed album, Yoni. Gingers takes a very different approach to writing his solo music which is very different from The Wildhearts.

      This album consists of the typical solo Ginger jangly guitar sound though it is a lot less rock 'n' roll than Yoni. The album also consists of a staggering twenty one tracks.

      The first track, Casino Bay, kicks off with very familiar lyrics and a very recognizable melody indeed which can also be heard on a completely different song on Ginger's first solo release, A Break In The Weather. The Queen Of Leaving spices things up a bit with some heavy distortion, a catchy vocal melody and a fast pace. Others tracks are a little intriguing such as Awareness And The Great Integrity, A Philosophical Conversation About Age and Regret.com.

      As we all know, with Ginger every song's a good one and here's twenty one of them all on one cd released by Round Records and distributed by Cargo Records.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Casino Bay
    2 Soap Hammer
    3 Queen Of Leaving
    4 Attentionette
    5 Ninns Of Mourning
    6 House Of Moths
    7 How Hard Can You Make It
    8 Awareness And The Great Integrity
    9 Philosophical Conversation About Age
    10 Josser Bank
    11 Tenants
    12 Regret.com
    13 Black Yeah
    14 I Knew You (An Anemesis)
    15 You And Me (That's What I Want)
    16 Couple Trouble
    17 Perilous Burden Of Prodigal Obligation
    18 Malibu Chronical
    19 Overeasy
    20 Eye Of The Rotunda
    21 Shatterproof

Products you might be interested in