Welcome! Log in or Register

McGuinness Flint - McGuinness Flint

  • image
£35.00 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: McGuinness Flint / Audio CD released 2001-07-23 at EMI Plus

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.04.2010 20:16
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      to me, an average folk rock album

      Just who are McGuinness Flint? McGuinness Flint were formed in 1970 by Tom McGuinness (formerly of Manfred Mann) and Hughie Flint (formerly from John Mayall) along with songwriters Benny Gallagher and Graham Lyle. They are best known for their folk rock hit 'When I'm Dead and Gone' which reached number 2 in the charts.

      Apart from the hit 'When I'm Dead and Gone' the album does serve up another couple of good songs in the form of 'Lazy Afternoon' and 'Bodang Buck'. Apart from those three songs the album is pretty rudimentary and mediocre. To be honest I was expecting a few more up-tempo songs, but the album only really serves up some folk-rock melodies.

      If you are a fan of folk-rock then you will certainly like this album, but saying that, if you like folk-rock you probably have this album already! I think fans of The Band and Bob Dylan would certainly like the album as you can hear elements of both of those acts clearly on this LP. I also suppose if you like the work of the band members previous work then you will also like to hear this album.

      To be honest, I wasn't overly impressed with McGuinness Flint's self titled debut, and I don't think I will bother with anything more from this group (even though they made three or four albums in total).

      I really haven't got that much more to say about this album, but if you want to listen then amazon.co.uk is selling the album for £18.90, but it might be worth getting 'The Capitol Years' for £5.23 which includes most of the best songs from this record.


      1. Lazy Afternoon
      2. Bodang Buck
      3. Mister, Mister
      4. Heritage
      5. I'm Letting You Know
      6. Let It Ride
      7. Dream Darling Dream
      8. When I'm Dead and Gone
      9. Brother Psyche
      10. Who You Got to Love
      11. International


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Lazy Afternoon
      2 Bodang Buck
      3 Mister Mister
      4 Heritage
      5 I'm Letting You Know
      6 Let It Ride
      7 Dream Darling Dream
      8 When I'm Dead And Gone
      9 Brother Psyche
      10 Who You Got To Love
      11 International

    Products you might be interested in