Welcome! Log in or Register

Meet Us At The Southern Sign - Glorior Belli

  • image
£5.04 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death & Black Metal / Artist: Glorior Belli / Audio CD released 2009-05-25 at Candlelight

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      19.10.2010 22:36
      Very helpful



      Interesting French black metal album

      Honestly speaking I'm not overly into black metal these days, I've always liked a bit of death metal but black metal is usually a bit long and repetitive for my liking, I work with a black metal fan from France though and he seems rather intent on lending me a couple of his regional gems, French black metal is leading the way at the moment, coming up with an evolving sound and I'm more than willing to give them a listen.

      Glorior Belli are from Auxerre and this is their 3rd release, I was unfamiliar with their first two albums and expected something Deathspell Omegaish, the first thing noticeable is the stylish album artwork, there was a nice booklet with seperate pages for each track's lyrics, lyrics which were dark but poetic.

      For the most part of the album, the tracks are kept short by death metal standards apart from the title-track, vocally the singer spews rather than growls, although it's the done thing in Black Metal, I can't help but feel the lyrics deserve better and a vocally clean version could be interesting.

      To some extent my wish comes true on this album, in fact "There is But One Light" and "Grief Stricken Blues" are both welcome tracks to my ears completely, breaking up the pure black metal sound by throwing in some southern rock riffs and vocals to make what has to be two of the heaviest stoner rock sounding tracks I've ever come across.

      This is definitely a direction changing album and although it's a bit extreme for me, I think that black metal fans should snap it up.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Once In a Blood Red Moon
    2 Forbidden Words
    3 Swamp That Shame
    4 There is But One Light
    5 My True Essence
    6 In Every Grief Stricken Blues
    7 Nox Illuminatio Mea
    8 Blazing Darkness The (of Luciferian Skies)
    9 Fivefold Thought
    10 Fires of the Sitra Ahra
    11 Meet Us At the Southern Sign

Products you might be interested in