Welcome! Log in or Register

Menace To Sobriety - OPM

  • image
£12.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: OPM / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2001-02-05 at Atlantic

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.09.2009 12:49
      Very helpful



      OPM's debut album

      "Menace To Sobriety" as the debut record from the California-based Rap Rock band OPM (Open People's Minds) in 2001. It found that in it the band brought with them elements of many of the popular trends of the time as although not Nu-Metallers, jumped into same sort of thing as they combined their Rock with alternative genres such as Hip Hop, Reggae and Pop. Honestly, they were only ever one-hit-wonders as the gained massive success with "Heaven Is A Halfpipe"

      1. "Stash Up"

      They are seen to get the album started up with a track which has them coming at things in a hyped as they sample classic material from Eric B. & Rakim and come with what are some pretty wack rhymes and do so with chants to liven up the atmosphere, but without effective rhymes (which soon deteriorate into mindless swearing), it doesn't translate into a very good start.

      **Two Stars**

      2. "Punanny" (Lude)

      3. "Heaven is A Halfpipe"

      Here they are seen to get into the track which brought so much attention to them as you see that in it they are able to express what makes them so different as on top of the classic Hip Hop break that is "Impeach The President" (used by the likes of Big Daddy Kane, Nas, and LL Cool J amongst many more) they do a humorous one which has them just showing just how laid-back they are and how all they rally care for is skateboarding.

      **Four Stars**

      4. "El Captain"

      Here they are seen to lay off the samples for a bit and instead of this you see that they decide tha rather than this it is much easier to just jack from other popular acts as they take the hook from the style of Onyx in their breakthrough years and have their rhymes concentrate upon cannabis as Cypress Hill and have them rhyming in the same manner as B-Real and the crew.

      **One Star**

      5. "Undercover Freak"

      Progressing things through with this one, you find that they get on top of some Dubs in try out soem Reggae-inspired work. It is a very confused tune and has them going from this to then come with a sort of Chicano Rap style and with so many conflicting things (none of which are explored to bring out any real quality0 it sits as a flop.

      **One Star**

      6. "Brighter Side"

      You get a heavy Hip Hop percussion break being used for this one, but you see that this is just to show this side of the music as they seem to move away from this type of material to a certain degree and instead resort to Acoustic Rock. It is something that wouldn't have appealed to me in the first place, but with such poor vocals, it means that you can't really enjoy any of it.

      **One Star**

      7. "Better Daze"

      You see that here they return back to the rapping here, but I can't really say that it was a welcomed return as they proved with this one that they weren't going to do anything that impressive to pull in listeners. However you do get the inclusion of a little Metal to vary it a little (if the rhymes haven't got a chance of doing this).

      **One Star**

      8. "Trucha"

      Here they get into another which takes on the Latino Rap style and I can't say that I've heard many in this style that I actually like, and so to have a white front man rapping out in this syle just makes it even worse and offer absolutely nothing for it at all as they try out more of their alternative humour, but do nothing to make any impact with it.

      **One Star**

      9. "Dealerman"

      This was perhaps the lowest point on the album as they try out more of their 'funny'' material but just lose it completely as they get back to singing and do so as they speak on how their local dopeman shows them more love than their partner. It's not funny and poorly written so there is nothing at all to prop it up.

      **One Star**

      10. "Reality Check"

      Here they try out one where they get down a joint which reflects their settings as a West Coast Rap Rock act by introducing some of the stuff which made Hip Hop blow up around these sides, but as they do generic work in a faux-post-G-Funk style, it seems to translate into yet another wack track from the band.

      **One Star**

      11. "Rage Against The Coke Machine" (Lude)

      12. "Unda"

      They kick up the tempo finally here, for a tune which takes on the popular Post-Pop style of the time as they do one where they perform about how they were treated at school by their teachers ad other things which really weren't doing anything to actually engage the listener with.

      **One Star**

      13. "15 Minutes" (Lude)

      14. "Fish Out Of Water"

      With this one they are seen to bring back the sort of formula which made "Heaven is A Halfpipe" such a hit. I really can't see why they didn't choose to release this one as a single as after all of the worst tunes you could possibly get, this sounds alright (although its clearly not) as it gets them appearing to bring together a sort of Red Hot Chili Peppers style with what they did earlier.

      **Two Stars**

      15. "Sound System"

      Finally bringing things to a close, with this you have the band getting into a track which seems to reflect the general low quality which is found throughout the album. It sees them bringing lots of the influences which were heard throughout the thing in a final effort, but it really has no substance at all.

      **One Star**

      I really can't see how anyone could enjoy this album (other than a maximum of two tracks) it is pathetic and they show nothing of worth at all. The quality of the lead single isn't reacted at any other stage and it means that the fluke effort from them is the only decent one of the record.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Stash up
      2 Interlude: Punanny
      3 Heaven is A Halfpipe
      4 El Capitan
      5 Undercover Freak
      6 Brighter Side
      7 Better Daze
      8 Trucha
      9 Dealerman
      10 Reality Check
      11 Interlude: Rage Against The Coke Machine
      12 Unda
      13 Interlude: 15 Minutes
      14 Fish Out Of Water
      15 Sound System

    Products you might be interested in