Welcome! Log in or Register

Mjg: Pimp Tight - Eightball and Mjg

  • image
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - Southern / Artist: Eightball and Mjg / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2008-04-29 at Real Talk

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.01.2009 09:53
      Very helpful



      MJG's third solo album

      Pimp Tight" is the first of two 2008 solo album from the Mmephis rapper MJG. The rapper is more known as being part of a double act, 8Ball & MJG, but in 2008, after signing to Bad Boy and coming out with their first big label record in "Ridin' High", they decided to do things alone for a while before re-uniting. As 8Ball & MJG, they had personally built up the southern Hip Hop game up with others like Three 6 Mafia. They started things in 1993, and never stopped.

      1. "Y'All Ain't Ready" (Intro)

      2. "Pimp Tight"

      You just know that he's waited years to make his catchphrase into afull track, and finally, he gets the opportunity to stick "Pimp Tight, MJG On The Track" in as part of the hook, rather than just the opening words for when he takes over from 8Ball, when performing as part of the Memphis duo in typical material from them.

      **Five Stars**

      3. "Get Yo A*s Up" (feat. 8Ball)

      MJ clearly couldn't stay away form his boy for long as the second musical track on it has him come back together with 8Ball for a deceent offering. It has them working with some guitar as part of the hook, and this change seems tp work nicely for them. MJG rightfully dominaes here, and leads as they go for straight Gangsta Rap.

      **Three Stars**

      4. "The Truth" (Lude)

      5. "Get You A Hoe"

      Whilst enforcing his position as a top pimpin the game, you get the artist goign for a smooth little tune where he raps all about the positiveies whihc come with tkaing this task on and managing what is said in the title. Although females aren't likely to agree with what is said here, MJG keeps it real, and continues to do what he has done since '93.

      **Four Stars**

      6. "High Like An Eagle"

      It doesn't take much to work out what he has as the topic to this one, and he doesn't attempt to surprise you in any way as he simply raps about his relationship with recreational drug substances, and what this has lead to in his life. The lively beat acts as a strong way to motivate him into talking of the positives of doing such activities with others. Unlike most, the Memphis scene has a wider variety of drugs which are commented on, shown twith material from Three 6 Mafia, and this continues here with a range given.

      **Four Stars**

      7. "Big Stakes" (Lude)

      8. "At Last"

      The beat found in both the intro and outro is utilsed in this track, and it has the rapper go all out to use it in the best way possible, and he does just this for this track whilst descirbing he relief at finally reaching the topl, and looking to accomplish differnt things in life, which he would never had thought of without achieing waht je has first.

      **Four Stars**

      9. "Small Town Girl"

      The song of the asame name is sampled in this one as MJG goes for soemthing differenct (since he has the freedom to do whatever he wants on his own solo album), and chooses to get conscious and rapping about the tough situation whihc a "Samll Town Girl" faces when entering into a relationship with a amn twenty years her elder.

      **Three Stars**

      10. "My Life, This Way"

      It's all about big MJ in this one, and he doesn't seem to care about what others care or do, so he shows this with a selfish display where he raps about all the things he has done, and wishes to do with his life, witout mentioning anyone who may have helped him along the way. However as a veteran in this game,m he one of few who is able to do this without being questioned.

      **Three Stars**

      11. "I Still Lay I Down" (feat. 8Ball)

      This is amongst the best that you get on the album. it has MJG go on some quickly-paced stuff, and re-uniting the duo of 8Ball & MJG as he talks about how he "Lays it Down" for Memphis. He slows very well on this exciting composition from Sac, who is well-reputed on the southern rap scene. You don't often get something like this from them, and saw it as a treat from him.

      **Five Stars**

      12. "I Tried"

      In a switch to what is expected from him,. You have MJ doing one about the difficult situations which have come about with his relationship, and with lines which have him count not only the days, but hours since the break up, you can fel the hurt which he feels ever since she left his life. I don't usually enjoy these, but strong production managed to win me over.

      **Four Stars**

      13. "Whatever I Wanna Do"

      I was well into his one as you get him doing one of those typical 'Friday night' joints, where performers all seem to be motivated to just forget all the worries in their life and just relax by going out and having a good time. One can't help but enjoy this type of track, and with its soft production based on a familiar sample it offer something differnct from the often lively tracks on this topic.

      **Four Stars**

      14. "It Ain't Over" (Outro)

      Personally, despite likeing what MJG had done prior to this, I didn't expect much from it, however he manamged to come up with a nice selection of Southern Rap tracks. He mixes things up a bit with a little "Brenda's Got A Baby"-type rap in "Small Town Girl", and stick in his obvious offerings of Gangsta Rap. it all works nicely, but with it being so short, the interludes are annoying placed between too many tunes. This is all pretty genreal stuff, but is doen well under the experience of MJG.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Y'all Ain't Ready
      2 Pimp Tight
      3 Get Yo A*s Up - 8Ball, MJG
      4 Truth
      5 Get You a H*E
      6 High Like an Eagle
      7 Big Stakes
      8 At Last
      9 My Life, This Way
      10 I Still Lay It Down
      11 I Tried - 8Ball, MJG
      12 Whatever I Wanna Do
      13 Small Town Girl
      14 It Ain't Ove

    Products you might be interested in