Welcome! Log in or Register

Mmxii - Killing Joke

  • image
£122.79 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Killing Joke / CD / Audio CD released 2012-04-02 at Spinefarm Records

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      17.10.2012 11:13



      An above-average release

      I'm a long time fan of Killing Joke and whilst I'm pleased that they're still chugging away after more than 30 years (on and off), I'm afraid MMXII isn't one of their strongest works. After 2010's astounding Absolute Dissent which featured a reunion of the original line-up for the first time since 1982, hopes were high that KJ would produce something special in 2012.

      Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad album. But it's not great. For the first time, to my ears anyway, some of the tracks are blatantly using riffs from older songs. KJ have a style all their own but every album up to now has had a distinct identity. On MMXII, we have the stonking Pole Shift as an opener which crunches between slow chords and a speeding chorus for nearly 9 minutes. But the chorus sounds like it was lifted from Blood on Your Hands. Corporate Elect is one of the better tracks but again the central riff is taken directly from the opening to Money is Not Our God. Glitch is a mishmash of Intravenous and Majestic and Trance is pretty much Pssyche part 2. The only standout song is In Cythera which stands head and shoulders above the rest and was a worthy single release.

      This is a good stepping-on point for new fans though and whilst it was a bit of a disappointment for me, I suspect a lot of long-time supporters will love it. With news of two new albums to come in 2013, I'm hopeful of a step up from MMXII provided we all survive the apocalypse of course :-)


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Pole Shift
    2 Fema Camp
    3 Rapture
    4 Colony Collapse
    5 Corporate Elect
    6 In Cythera
    7 Primobile
    8 Glitch
    9 Trance
    10 On All Hallow's Eve

Products you might be interested in