Welcome! Log in or Register

Muscle Of Love - Alice Cooper

  • image
£3.98 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Alice Cooper / Audio CD released 1999-11-29 at Esp

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.11.2008 17:09
      Very helpful



      Under-rated album

      Muscle of Love is Alice Cooper's last album to feature the original band line-up. It shows a slight change in style from the catchier albums of 71 and 72 and already has some work by other artists included such as Dick Wagner, Mick Mashbir and Steve Deacon playing some guitar on certain tracks, mostly down to the ill-health of Glen Buxton at the time.

      Muscle of Love doesn't get a high rating on sites like allmusic but this album is decent, the title track is a classic hit and while you can't say that about any of the other tracks tey are certainly not bad. Teenage Lament 74' is yet another anthem geared at teenage angst just as "Eighteen" was, it also features Lisa Minelli on backing vocals.

      The album was released in 1972 and is quite varied - Big Apple Dreaming is a ballad whilst Man With the Golden Gun is without doubt one of the best songs geared towards James Bond films that I have ever heard, unfortunately it wasn't chosen for the film of the same title, it was their loss!

      I can only think that the critics didn't like this one because it was different (slower) than their previous albums because the song-writing is reminiscent of REM on this album and it has a more psychedelic sound once again.

      The album has an equal amount of upbeat tracks "Never Been Sold Before", "Working Up A Sweat"etc, as it does slow piano songs "Crazy Little Child", "Hard Hearted Alice"etc

      1. "Big Apple Dreamin' (Hippo)" (Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Michael Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith) - 5:10
      2. "Never Been Sold Before" (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith) - 4:28
      3. "Hard Hearted Alice" (Cooper, Bruce) - 4:53
      4. "Crazy Little Child" (Cooper, Bruce) - 5:03
      5. "Working Up a Sweat" (Cooper, Bruce) - 3:32
      6. "Muscle of Love" (Cooper, Bruce) - 3:45
      7. "Man With the Golden Gun" (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith) - 4:12
      8. "Teenage Lament '74" (Cooper, Smith) - 3:53
      9. "Woman Machine" (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith) - 4:31


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Big Apple Dreamin' Hippo
    2 Never Been Sold Before
    3 Hard Hearted Alice
    4 Crazy Little Child
    5 Working Up A Sweat
    6 Muscle Of Love
    7 Man With The Golden Gun
    8 Teenage Lament '74
    9 Woman Machine

Products you might be interested in