Welcome! Log in or Register

Muzyka Na Trabke Gitare I Flet - Kwartet Jorgi

  • image
1 Review

Genre: World Music / Artist: Kwartet Jorgi / Import / Audio CD released 2003-06-17 at Orange World

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      26.01.2010 14:07
      Very helpful



      Not as minimalistic or specialised as Warsaw Village Band

      Kwartet Jorgi are a seriously under-rated Polish band who play a fast breed of folk music that comes out of the Carpathian Mountains, the speed and technical ability at which they play is like no other Polish folk band I've heard or seen.

      The band are known as the "smallest quartet in the world" because they are in fact a trio and have been for numerous years, this album which translates to "Music on trumpet, guitar and flute" is work saved from jam sessions and the result is 52 minutes of excellent music. It has a slight Latin American flavour to it, particularly emanating from the trumpet sections!

      Unfortunately for some reason Kwartet Jorgi are hard to get hold of, they don't seem to do a great deal of concerts these days and they haven't released an album since 2003. The current line-up differs slightly from the original 80s line-up but the key band members are still there.

      The band's focus is on guitar, flute and drum playing - all done in a traditional style but interpreted quite differently to what you might imagine. The album Muzyna Na Trabke is about the easiest to obtain and is released by "Orange World", it's their 2nd but last album and I'm not sure if there are any plans for new work to be made available.

      I found this album to be a great introduction to the band but unfortunately it's also a little frustrating because it whets your appetite for more of the band's music which seems nearly impossible to find. They do however seem to be a fixture at the folk stage of the "Przystanek Woodstock" festival on the German/Polish border.

      1 - I
      2 - II
      3 - III
      4 - IV
      5 - V
      6 - VI
      7 - VII
      8 - VIII
      9 - IX
      10 - X
      11 - XI


      Login or register to add comments