Welcome! Log in or Register

My Passion Your Pain - Callenish Circle

  • image
£21.84 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Callenish Circle / Audio CD released 2007-01-01 at METALBLADE

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.04.2008 14:02
      Very helpful



      Callenish Circle's fourth album (2003).

      While Holland's Callenish Circle aren't exactly set to be the saviours of melodic death metal, they're certainly one of the more interesting bands still active in a genre that essentially peaked over ten years ago, and is now plagued by endless copycat artists taking the sound in increasingly unsatisfying directions. Callenish Circle wear their influences on their bloodied sleeves, covering a death metal classic from Pestilence at the finale and even offering their own "answer" of sorts to Dark Tranquillity's 1995 song 'Mine is the Grandeur of Melancholy Burning' with the title suite of this release; although no comparison is expressly stated, the similarities are evident.

      Unfortunately, for those looking for something new to revive melodeath, these three songs towards the end ('My Passion//' and '//Your Pain' with the bisecting acoustic interlude 'Conflicts') represent the only progressive achievement here, with the rest sounding like more At the Gates worship. The production values are faultless, which actually works against this album retaining any sort of individual character above the clinically hammering drums and guitar riffs that have really all started to sound the same by this point.

      Callenish Circle are still an interesting band that are at least helping to keep melodic death metal enjoyable even if they flatly refuse to take it anywhere interesting. These albums arguably arrived too late to be afforded the same iconic status as the classics of the genre, but the band would perhaps be the first to admit that they really needed those works as influence. At least Dark Tranquillity's still going strong.

      1. Soul Messiah
      2. Dwelling in Disdain
      3. Forsaken
      4. What Could Have Been
      5. This Truculent Path
      6. My Hate Unfolds
      7. Misled
      8. My Passion //
      9. Conflicts
      10. // Your Pain
      11. Out of the Body (Pestilence cover)


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Soul Messiah
    2 Dwelling In Disdain
    3 Forsaken
    4 What Could Have Been
    5 This Truculent Path
    6 My Hate Unfolds
    7 Misled
    8 My Passion
    9 Conflicts
    10 Your Pain
    11 Out Of The Body

Products you might be interested in